We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a class of its own”
Review of Ivy Guesthouse

Ivy Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 21 Bradford B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you want very reasonably priced bed and breakfast that is within easy walking distance of the city centre, yet quiet, with a comfortable bed and a substantial breakfast with dietary needs catered for and you are not averse to sharing bathroom facilities, then this is the place for you.
Don't be surprised, however, if you catch a glimpse of Basil Fawlty nor if the occasional piece of plaster falls from the ceiling!
If I have occasion to be in Bradford again, I would happily stay at the Ivy Guesthouse.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Ivy Guesthouse, Melbourne Place. Bradford, West Yorkshire
http://www.ivyguesthousebradford.com/
01274 727060

I have just spent four very comfortable nights at the Ivy Guest House; and although conveniently placed, it’s about five minutes away from Bradford Interchange in the City Centre, with a direct train link to London; it is tucked away in a rather lovely setting of tree lined, cobbled streets.

This family run guest house has a lovely old fashioned feel to it, while still having the modern necessities one would expect. My bedroom overlooking the gardens was very comfortable, with a small television and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served from 06.00am for the early birds, in a lovely breakfast room overlooking the splendid gardens, in which you can sit out and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.

When I visit again, I will certainly be heading for this cosy and friendly Guest House.

Sooty Kemp
10.06.2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sootyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Loved our room typical British countryside style with sink tv and fireplace only drawback the tilet and shower where to share which we didn't think about inquiring before making our booking otherwise for that price if I knew it we would have rather booked at the central travel lodge in Bradford which is really cheap!
The cooked breakfast was good as it was overlooking a nice garden and the breakfast room was nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spend 3 nights in this lovely B&B with welcoming and helpful staff a throwstone away from the city centre, University of Bradford and the train/bus station.
Rooms are cosy and clean, breakfast generous and -mainly- organic and a lovely sunny garden included.
Highly recommended - great value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laboerhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights and it was reasonable ok. The guesthouse is very old and in urgent need of renovation and item-replacement (e.g the shower head and the bed light in my room were remediated with wires because they were slightly broken) but everything was clean and my overall stay was positive. To start with the price per night is very competitive, then the bed I slept in was quite comfy and the room of a good size with working central heating (but not the hot water tap). unfortunately my window didn't close properly which made the outside noises a bit more noticeable, also maybe because the road outside was a cobbled road, the owners were friendly and accommodating and I was given a delicious vegetarian breakfast both days.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Sushipando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The overall impression of the exterior of the building is of a merchants house with extensive gardens,it just goes down hill from there. The interior is in desperate need of serious cleaning and effective maintenance the room we had for (thankfully) one night had the ceiling paper tacked in place with carpet tacks where a section had come away! the toilet door lock was barely operable and the shower room was held togther with tape and wire. The cost of the room was extortionate we moved into the Great Victoria hotel for the same cost as this very poor example of B&B accomodation.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

For the price the Ivy Guest House is not bad. Being very close to Bradford city centre with a friendly, obliging owner you can't expect much more for the price.
The house is badly in need of a facelift, repair, and re-decoration. There are 10 rooms on offer, simply furnished with antique furniture.
Tea, coffee, sugar, and uht milk packets are in the room along with a kettle, a sink, and a modern freeview TV (fully working)
Shower-rooms and toilets are shared, and badly in need of decorating and maintenance, but clean.
The breakfast includes a range of cereals and teas, and a small cooked breakfast (not particularly hot) Vegetarians are catered for.
The bed I slept in was perfect. Good firm mattress with two pillows (+one extra as requested) Could possibly do with a blanket provided for each bed though, for those who suffer with the cold.
Would definitely go again for the price and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattsBusinessReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.4 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
909 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
558 reviews
6 mi away
The Manor Cullingworth
The Manor Cullingworth
#1 of 1 in Cullingworth
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guesthouse

Address: 3 Melbourne Place, Bradford BD5 0HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing