We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too dear for non en suite bathroom in the room”
Review of Ivy Guesthouse

Ivy Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 21 Bradford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Loved our room typical British countryside style with sink tv and fireplace only drawback the tilet and shower where to share which we didn't think about inquiring before making our booking otherwise for that price if I knew it we would have rather booked at the central travel lodge in Bradford which is really cheap!
The cooked breakfast was good as it was overlooking a nice garden and the breakfast room was nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spend 3 nights in this lovely B&B with welcoming and helpful staff a throwstone away from the city centre, University of Bradford and the train/bus station.
Rooms are cosy and clean, breakfast generous and -mainly- organic and a lovely sunny garden included.
Highly recommended - great value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laboerhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights and it was reasonable ok. The guesthouse is very old and in urgent need of renovation and item-replacement (e.g the shower head and the bed light in my room were remediated with wires because they were slightly broken) but everything was clean and my overall stay was positive. To start with the price per night is very competitive, then the bed I slept in was quite comfy and the room of a good size with working central heating (but not the hot water tap). unfortunately my window didn't close properly which made the outside noises a bit more noticeable, also maybe because the road outside was a cobbled road, the owners were friendly and accommodating and I was given a delicious vegetarian breakfast both days.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Sushipando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The overall impression of the exterior of the building is of a merchants house with extensive gardens,it just goes down hill from there. The interior is in desperate need of serious cleaning and effective maintenance the room we had for (thankfully) one night had the ceiling paper tacked in place with carpet tacks where a section had come away! the toilet door lock was barely operable and the shower room was held togther with tape and wire. The cost of the room was extortionate we moved into the Great Victoria hotel for the same cost as this very poor example of B&B accomodation.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

For the price the Ivy Guest House is not bad. Being very close to Bradford city centre with a friendly, obliging owner you can't expect much more for the price.
The house is badly in need of a facelift, repair, and re-decoration. There are 10 rooms on offer, simply furnished with antique furniture.
Tea, coffee, sugar, and uht milk packets are in the room along with a kettle, a sink, and a modern freeview TV (fully working)
Shower-rooms and toilets are shared, and badly in need of decorating and maintenance, but clean.
The breakfast includes a range of cereals and teas, and a small cooked breakfast (not particularly hot) Vegetarians are catered for.
The bed I slept in was perfect. Good firm mattress with two pillows (+one extra as requested) Could possibly do with a blanket provided for each bed though, for those who suffer with the cold.
Would definitely go again for the price and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattsBusinessReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

three of us stayed for one night in may 2012. i had good communication from the owner by email and phone and we were able to arrange a time to pick up the keys then we were free to come and go as we pleased. this is a grade II listed building in a tiny time warp of old listed buildings right in the center of bradford. the walled garden is stunning. i have to say this place will not be for everyone. if you like the idea of staying in a lovely old building which hasn't been updated for a long time and has the feel of guesthouse gone by (which we do), then you will like this place. the rooms have comfortable beds, the shared bathrooms have not been upgraded in a very long time but were clean and functional and the house is somewhat dilapidated (apologies to nick, the owner, but i'm sure he'd agree). however that just added to the charm for us. the breakfast was delicious, the prices are extremely reasonable and it's round the corner from the karachi curry house, one of the best in bradford.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed in a private room for one night.
It's a guest house not a hotel - so don't expect private bathrooms or sterile conditions. For half the price of the standard chains I has a decent room in a quiet area - in close walking distance to the University (5 mins) and a cracking breakfast made to my specifications - full English, vegetarian or vegan available. Easy to book by email, quick confirmation and easy to find off the motorway up a cobbled road. Friendly and helpful reception. The decor is dated and tired, but there are signs that its gradually being updated. No private bathroom but there are enough shared facilities - even a huge bath.
If you want great value its the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
5.2 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.4 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
920 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
566 reviews
6 mi away
The Manor Cullingworth
The Manor Cullingworth
#1 of 1 in Cullingworth
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guesthouse

Address: 3 Melbourne Place, Bradford BD5 0HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing