We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty unkept Hotel”
Review of The Lister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lister Hotel
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed October 19, 2013

“I had arranged to stay at the hotel (12/09/2013) and I arrived earlier than planned and called at the hotel to see if I could leave my luggage. The time was 12.30pm, the hotel door was open, however there did not appear to be anyone manning either the reception or the bar area. Despite calling out, no one seemed to be available. I even tried ringing the hotel phone number that was given on the voucher, which rang in the foyer were I was standing for 6 rings before being disconnected. I waited a total of 20 minutes in the foyer area without the appearance of any staff.The standard of cleanliness of the public areas of the hotel that I was able to view ( and smell ) were enough of a deterrent.” I left without staying, I have tried via Wowcher to get a response from the Hotel but no joy there. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poorqualitycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here in March. Looked lovely from outside and good location opposite the park. But the porch was littered with cigarette butts, the hall and stairs were dirty and the whole place was shabby in the extreme. Furthermore we were charged twice for our evening meal £66 and despite repeated phone calls and e mails this has not been refunded. Do not go here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We were due to stay at this hotel weekend 31st August - on arrive it was apparent the property urgently needed updating. The carpets were filthy, lights on reception were broken. However the lady of reception was polite, friendly and helpful. The biggest disappointment for us was on entering our room to discover cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, disgusting toilet and the jacuzzi bath we had paid an upgrade for was full of pubic hairs. Having sat on the bed the springs were sharp through the mattress and the floorboard of so thin that anyone walking around sounds like they might end up in your room. Over all it felt like cheap student accommodation.

We could not stay due to the lack of cleanliness in the room, and checked out that night. When leaving the lady on reception was very apologetic but did not offer any kind of a refund. We were told the manager was on holiday and therefore the assistant manager would call Sunday or Monday, we heard nothing- when I rang and spoke to the assistant manager he was quite stand offish before offering to refund the upgrade but stated I would have to go back to wowcher to get the rest of my refund. Wowcher have informed me they need confirmation from the hotel and in trying to seek this I have had no response from the hotel!

Wasted part of my weekend and continue to waste time trying to get my money back, the only positive was the hotel was moved to was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowry3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on living social deal.On arrival the owner Simon met us in the car park and carried our bags to the top floor to a lovely spacious room-more like a suite really-with sofa and large screen tv as well as a jacuzzi bath.We enjoyed a lovely meal in the bistro with complimentary wine.Although service was a little slow this did not bother us as we enjoyed prolonging the evening charting and the waiter was very attentive and friendly.The bed was very comfortable and had a great nights sleep heading down to breakfast at 9.15 which is a nice touch to serve until 10.00.All in all a lovely experience and would say previous reviews do not do the hotel justice.Little touches like nibbles on the bar and lovely contemporary music in the bistro make the lister stand out so thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahlee076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I booked the three day stay at the Lister Hotel through 'Groupon'. Prior to leaving home we looked at the hotel's website and then looked forward to our relaxing city break. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the hotels owners, who was very friendly and welcoming. He took down a few details at reception, and then asked us to follow him to our room. The third floor of the building is reached by stairs only, (the lift doors were covered with black sheets). The stair carpet was old, stained and set the standard of cleanliness for the rest of our stay. Our room was a good size - now for the negatives. The curtains did not open (or close), we had to use drawing pins to hold them open during the day. The carpet was ok, but felt dirty. The bed was comfortable, however I had the misfortune of seeing into the 'open end' of the white quilt cover, the quilt was badly stained with goodness knows what! Room 204 was ensuite, however, the standard of cleanliness was very poor at best. The sink was cracked, and had been 'repaired' with a huge amount of white 'mastic', the sink tap was loose, as was the towel rail, glass shelf, toilet roll holder, and the shower controls fell off when operated. The adequate breakfast was served by friendly staff. For this hotel to survive it is going to take a huge amount of work and money, and we will not be staying there again. The cost of the Groupon deal did seem too good to be true, and in the end it was!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel through a woucher deal and having read the recent positive reviews we expected better. First appearance it looked dated and in need of TLC, however the lovely Lister Park hotel was a bonus. We received a warm welcome on arrival but as we were taken to our room on the top floor it became apparent that cleanliness was not the first consideration. The stair carpet was dingy and stained and did not give a first impression. Whether it was because we were on a voucher deal the room we were given was so disappointing. The furniture was dusty, and we could not put our clothes in drawers as they were were dirty and had remnants of previous guests including an old hospital gown, pieces of glass and various debris! The room was basic with no mirror in the bedroom and no table lamps. The duvet cover had stains on but the pillows and sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good with good quality and tasty food on offer. We can only hope that guests paying the full price had a better experience than we did. People that visit this hotel on a voucher deal should still expect a standard of cleanliness in their room which we did not get.

Room Tip: Do not travel on a voucher deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galaxy1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor we had a wonderful weekend in Bradford. Simon the owner welcomed us personally on reception and introduced Tiffany and they were both very friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was beautiful, front-facing at the top of the hotel with a great view of the fantastic Lister park and a jacuzzi bath with plenty of hot water. After a very tasty and filing breakfast on sunday morning - thank you Tiffany - we went into Lister Park which was a real surprise. It has a fabulous art gallery and terrific gardens with plenty of walks and fountains. I echo other reviewers in saying ignore the negative comments prior to July and go for a really friendly, welcoming stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
1.6 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
764 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
4.2 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
566 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Manor Cullingworth
The Manor Cullingworth
#1 of 1 in Cullingworth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lister Hotel

Address: 22 North Park Road, Bradford BD9 4NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Purchased in Aug 2010, The 14 en-suite bedroom hotel on the outskirts of Bradford City Centre overlooking the award winning Lister Park. We also have a relaxing bar with a function room that is ideal for both social and corporate events. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lister Mansion Hotel
Lister Mansion Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing