We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well managed Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant 1914

Restaurant 1914
Ranked #59 of 674 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The best in service and style and the most memorable setting imaginable. A luxurious and sumptuous new dining experience in a brand new purpose built restaurant located on the Upper Circle level giving the best views over City Park.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well managed Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had first visit to this lovely Restaurant on 28 September prior to seeing Cabaret. The service was excellent it appeared to be running like a well oiled machine. The food was delicious and very well presented. Will be visiting again on our next outing to Alhambra Theatre.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited this 1914 Restaurant for a pre-show dinner before Momentous Musicals in July 2013..

We were very impressed with the décor of the restaurant and we were greeted by pleasant waitresses. The restaurant was pleasantly full with nice music playing giving a nice ambience. As the restaurant is situated on the top floor the views over the city park are really nice.

We were, however, a bit disappointed when the menu arrived to see that it had been greatly reduced from the advertisement we received through the post. We had both decided on what we would like to order before we got there and neither of our starters or main courses were on the menu. Saying this, what we did order was very nice, but there was a long gap between the starter and main course. This wasn't a problem for us as we were too full for a dessert, but when we left at 7.15pm some people were still on their main course and the show started at 7.30pm. Maybe they were not seeing the show as it is open to all.

The restaurant prices we thought were quite reasonable.

If we visit Bradford again for a show we will definitely consider eating here again as it made a very nice start to what was a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbiegirlWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in a superb setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Seven of us visited for a meal before seeing Dreamboats and Petticoats. The service was friendly and helpful. All three courses were very good for all of us. Fresh seabass looked stunning and, those eating it said it was stunning. Watermelon and goats cheese salad starter was agreed to be delicious by all who chose it and I found the ham hock terrine fresh and well flavoured. Risotto was gorgeous and my personal restaurant test - crème brulee - passed with flying colours. No messing about with it, just a perfect crunch on top and then unctuous custard beneath. On a hot evening it was lovely to watch children splashing in the fountains of the city park. We all agreed we would visit again - no mean feat as we don't always agree.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality in a great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Attended as part of a Allo Allo Dinner Show so food expectations were relatively low. How wrong .... Superb quality & attractive presentation. Friendly efficient service. Only issue was coffee/tea confusion for the waiting staff. They obviously were unable to differentiate from the uniform dispensers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bababiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very welcome addition in Bradford.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Really pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. Good range of choices on menu, good quality food. Have been twice now and will definitely go again. An excellent addition to what's on offer at the theatre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank merlinWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1914 also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant 1914? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing