We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food...average service”
Review of Akbar's Cafe

Akbar's Cafe
Ranked #361 of 683 Restaurants in Bradford
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Akbar's Cafe do traditional Indian food along with great steaks, pastas, lasagnes, salmon and a huge selection of desserts and ice creams mmmmm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food...average service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I have just visited akbars cafe, this is my first visit and I was extremely happy with the food. We arrived early and were seated straight away, the waiters were prompt in ordering our drinks. The food arrived promptly as well but the waiters were constantly asking if our food was ok (3/4 times) which seemed a bit excessive. They also came to take our meals twice before we had finished.

We also felt as if we were rushed as whilst we were having dessert they tried to take our plates again and then gave us the bill, even though we hadn't asked for it.

Overall I feel the food was to a restaurant standard however the service was that of a small time cafe. To progress i feel they need to sort out their identity as I would really like to eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    76
    68
    51
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New cafe de akbar epic fail”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were happy regulars at the original cafe akbars on leeds road. Upon visiting this new cafe de akbars we are incredibly shocked.

What a failure. I have no idea why they had to change what was a fantastic running restaurant.

The new cafe de akbar further up leeds rd is crammed, the eating experience was terrible since we had to be so cautious of every movment. It is incredibly noisy and as everyone is crammed in you can hear the conversations from all around. Really off putting.

Food : our favourite chicken nambali has been reduced to an eighth of a chicken breast! What a joke! The mushrooms and peppers have also been omitted.
When we asked for our main the waiter brought us mayonnaise!

Service: poor poor so far away from the organised service at the original cafe. We had waiters disturb us twice with food and drinks for other tables.
When we complained about the nambali nothing ws done and we had to pay full price.

Really angry and upset. Definitely will not be coming again. Would prefer cafe zoya down the road.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank famulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went to the newly opened akbars cafe,and what a disappointment..we waited in the assigned area to be seated..three staff didn't acknowledge us to busy talking among themselves.2 other customers came in went by the payment desk and was shown to a table they did not have a booking..we went on to do that was told to go back where we were..when I explained he didn't seem to care and said a manager is there we did t see any...just three staff laughing and joking hardly the image you would like to represent your business...no customer focus we will not be going again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shanaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star service and food everytime”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I here two weeks ago with a friend and he loved it, from starters to main. My friend and I alway come here at least once every 2 months.

Try out the Shepards pie and Chicken nambli

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good quality”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good quality restraunt with great food.
Prices are average.
Can get a bit loud with the young people but it helps build to the atmosphere.

Definitely select over Mumtaz

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChavFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar's Cafe also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Akbar's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing