We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“User Beware of the Cartwright !!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“User Beware of the Cartwright !!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Diabolical !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Checked in at 5.15pm and had to find my own way to the room, which was less than acceptable...........Had agreed a price which was challenged at 10.15 by presumably the Manager already 'happy' with drink.
At 12.15am said 'gentleman' knocked at my bedroom door demanding payment for the room. I refused to answer the door and again refused when a female voice demanded that I open the door. Again I refused, whereupon the 'Manager' said he would call the Police. I invited him to do so as I was not going to answer the door. The Manager badly slurring his words by now tried to access the room but I had blocked it so he could not get in.
The following morning the police did arrive and knocked me up. In truth I was pleased they were there as I paid and left the hotel.
I had stayed there before as it was geographically good for what I needed, but NEVER, NEVER again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.............................BEWARE !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cymbeline1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    18
    10
    22
See reviews for
9
68
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
422 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on a Groupon deal. Our room was right at the top with a view of the park opposite. The room was clean and comfy and our bathroom was completely refurbished with a jacuzzi bath.The owner was very helpful and we had a lovely breakfast despite being the only people staying there.We have certain things we check in a hotel and the Cartwright passed on all points. We need comfy beds, A TV that works easily, a kettle and plentiful supplies of tea and coffee and a shaver point that works. So many supposedly high ranked hotels fail on these points but the Cartwright passed with flying colours.There was even fast WIFI in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were given room 104 in this hotel and quite frankly it was rancid and filthy. Damp patches on ceiling, dust and dirt everywhere and worst of all badly stained bed/mattress.
No management available for comment either just a barmaid ??

Room Tip: check trip advisor for recent comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bradford hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

1st Thing is the Smell of Smoke - it is not pleasant, especially as its where your staying and it's the first major Thing you Notice as you walk through the doors. Smoke & stale put together
2nd No heating in the Room
3rd There was no running hot water in the bathroom sink
4th no plug for the bath - very Annoying
5th no Wardrobe to hang any clothes
6th Breakfast was poor
7th just overall cleanliness and standards of hotel lacked and the Smell of smoke was very very VERY Off putting !!!
8th I will say Though the bed was Comfortable & made up for the nights we stayed.
9th I feel like the Website is a false advertisement and Did not meet the standards Required!
10th staff were friendly

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lhe-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Room was cold, my pillow smelt of smoke needed to ask for more loo roll as there was only 1 in there, we went down to the bar to ask for more i then had to take it back to our room as the manager was drunk! we wasnt told when breakfast served, we had to leave the key when we went out. when it came to breakfast we waited for about 40 minutes for it to arrive then it was cold toast and not nice at all! Another guest found a hair as well. so i dont think we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

so after reading the reviews i wasnt sure what to expect.....however! the room was very comfortable and definitely worth the money.....the staff couldnt do more for you ie advised about local restaurants and amenities....def stay again

Room Tip: at rear of hotel as away from main road but hotel was always quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopez1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews we were dreading what this hotel would be like. But actually we enjoyed our stay! Our room was up some narrow winding stairs and was large and clean,if a bit cold. Lovely comfy bed. Breakfast was adequate, though we ate it in a freezing conservatory, with other guests all in their coats! The girl serving breakfast was friendly and seemed to do everything in the place. She certainly did her best for us bless her. Hotel opposite a huge Park,which is a delightful place, with Cartwright Hall ( an art gallery) in it. We had a couple of walks round it. The staff were friendly, but we didn't sit in the bar, as there were some strange characters in it! All in all we enjoyed the stay and it was good value for money as we used a living social voucher and paid £69 for 2 night bed and breakfast and bottle of wine.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hil_cross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel
1.6 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
54 reviews
3.9 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel

Property: The Cartwright Hotel
Address: 308 Manningham Lane, Bradford BD8 7AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished, Victorian hotel located close to the nationally acclaimed Cartwright Hall Museum, Alhambra Theatre and of course Bradford City FC, as well as being within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales - you certainly won't be bored during your stay at The Cartwright! All the rooms are beautifully decorated and en-suite, with Free view TV, DVD player, WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and a hairdryer - what more could you need? As well as a full licensed bar, the Hotel offers a patio area overlooking the award-winning Lister Park. Jazuzzi room available, perfect for birthdays or any special occasion. Breakfast is very popular at the Cartwright and served from 7am every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing