We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor maintenance of room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good location, poor maintenance of room”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel several years ago and found it really useful as the location was perfect.

Originally I booked into the Premier Inn by accident. Luckily they called me to check I knew that there was no car park and that they had been open for only a few months. That's when I realised I'd booked into the wrong hotel. I cancelled the Premier Inn and booked into the Holiday Inn instead. Big mistake! The check-in was great but when I got to the room (321) there was a problem with the window frame. It was like the window was open. Lots of drafts and lots of noise! The traffic noise was awful. At 1am, I was close to checking out and driving 2 hours home. I could not get any sleep at all. Before going to bed, I decided to have a quick beer in the bar. They only sell low strength beer at high prices. The lager is only Becks Vier at 4% and for bitter it was Boddingtons at 3.5%. The only regular beer I could find was Perroni (5%) at an eye-watering £3.85 for a 330ml bottle! I guess that's why the bar was completely empty.

When I checked out very tired after no sleep due to the room noise, I complained about the window problem and they didn't seem to care, shruggling it off, but enjoying charging my card, so I'm assuming they expected it. If you are anything but a very heavy heavy sleeper do not stay here, or sleep in your car (at least it's free)

Was a great place to stay, but now if you live within 2 hours, GO HOME! You will regret staying here.

Room Tip: If your room was like mine, you are probably better off sleeping in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Istate75

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am sorry that you found the room required some maintanence. If you had reported this to reception we would have been able to move your room.
The hotel bar does offer a range of products and the prices are competitive with other outlets on the complex. It is not unusal for the hotel bar to be quiet at one in the morning most days due to the mix of clients that stay in the hotel.

Once again i am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    228
    90
    31
    27
See reviews for
113
136
38
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my husband's first trip to a hotel without me after 24years of marriage and he was very nervous! He was staying overnight waiting for our son and had a 7 hour trip up the M1 from Windsor. So, arriving exhausted, he was very pleasantly suprised. The room was spotless, large and the bed extremely comfortable. The en suite was large and the shower was perfect. All in all he had a great night's sleep and left feeling refreshed. Can't comment on breakfast because he didn't go down for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Tracy W

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations and we were able to provide a service that enabled your husband to have a restful night without you. The saying- Behind a good man there is always a good woman springs to mind.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be travelling to bradford again

Kind regards

Dean Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here with coach party weekend Very good clean rooms. Evening meal good, but was disappointed with the breakfast only scrambled egg sausage and beans. Have always found with these holiday express hotels you get a good evening meal or a great breakfast, never both.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jf40

Thank you for taking the time to wirte a review on your recent stay.

I am pleased that you found the hotel meet your requirements following your stay with a coach tour. The Holiday Inn Express Brand offers a free full continental breakfast that includes Hot Items and i am sorry if this was not made clear to you by the agent you booked with.

Your comments regarding your room will be passed onto the housekeeping team

Kind regards

Dean Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

just come back from a long weekend very clean helpful staff nothing a bother breakfast all you could wish for comfy bed clean bathroom would definately recomend cheap price cheerful place. great location bowling cinema resteraunts and take aways all around hotel. 5 minuet walk into town great shops and market and pubs it is very hilly so need to be good underfoot . bus and train station just over the road

Room Tip: second floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Amanda C

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at us.

I will pass on your comments to the team, the hotel is committed to offering a friendly service and i am glad that they delivered this to you.
The hotel is indeed well located to explore Bradford and the surrounding areas, but i agree you do need good footware but if nothing else the hills do keep us fit

We look forward to welcoming you back should you visit Bradford again

Kind regards

Dean Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A pretty good place to stay, considering it's only £35 a night.
When you press '2' in the lift for Reception, on arrival at the 2nd floor you will be fooled by the computerised voice announcing "Level One" - when the doors open, that long fixture resembling a reception desk is indeed Reception on the 2nd floor; the computerised voice woman cannot count.
Check-in was straightforward and staff were friendly; our party had two non-smoking rooms and one smoking. They were pretty much identical and were well presented, clean and tidy.
I wasn't blown away by the breakfast because I don't care much for scrambled eggs, but I won't let my dietary fussiness knock it down a mark because it seemed hot and edible.
The parking arrangement is perfect, with the adjacent multi-storey (park on Level 4) with a discount available if you present your ticket at hotel reception for scanning before departure.
All in all, an excellent place to be based when visiting Bradford - convenient city-centre, easy parking, comfy night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xopher147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Xopher147

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be value for money, booking your stay 21days in advance offers the very best rates for guests the ideal option if you know your plans will not be changing.
We are in the process of fixing the floor caller in the lift a newly installed part was not programmed correctly.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be back in Bradford on your travels

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel number of times, recently last night. Always found comfortable. It is in a leisure complex, where next door Cine-world, Nando, Frankie and Bennie, Pizza-Hut and other changing restaurant. It provides compliment breakfast, which is very good. If you get your parking ticket stamped, you pay reduce parking charges.

Room Tip: Prefer 3rd or 4th floor. Different side gives you different view to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodvegifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Goodvegifood

Thank you for your review , I am glad that you have found that the hotel has meet with your needs on more than one occasion. I do hope that you are a priority club member and as such will have earned points for your stays that can be used for free nights and much more.

We look forward to welocming you back soon

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Found the hotel and managed to park in the carpark with no problems. Check-in easy. The room was fine, bathroom clean etc... The sofa bed wasn't clean. I would not have liked to sleep on it. The main bed was fine, clean and comfy. We had a pretty good sleep, not too much noise from the road. The breakfast was good, scrambled eggs and sausages. Not much chance of toast though unless you were among the first in the dining area!! Other Cereals, juice and milk provided. This hotel was fine for what we paid. I would stay again. The facilities ouside of the hotel were great.... bowling, drinks, cinema, pizza hut etc. My child loved it!! The bar in the reception area was great, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The vending machines in the reception area are handy too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coll296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Coll296

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us .

I am glad that you found the hotel easy and found the hotel meet with your expectations.

The breakfast can become busy at times, when we have large groups staying we do try and maintain the flow of the self service buffet to allow for all our guests to be able to access all the food items.

I look forward to seeing you again shoudl you be in the Bradford area.

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.5 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#12 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Victoria Hotel
Great Victoria Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Address: Leisure Exchange Vicar Lane, Bradford BD1 5LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 10 miles from Leeds Bradford International Airport and 12 miles from Leeds City Centre, our Bradford hotel is also within easy walking distance from Bradford Interchange Train Station. Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre is located within the Leisure Exchange, which is a restaurant and leisure complex. All of our room rates include hot breakfast and free WiFi is available for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre Hotel Bradford
Holiday Inn Bradford
Bradford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing