We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night

Positive
1. Location being right in the city centre.
2. Good value for money if we book 21 days in advance.
3. Very helpful staff.

Negative
1. The standard of cleanliness was not very high..
2. Difficult to find as we cannot stop infront of hotel.
3. Stayed in Room 330 but was very noisy due to highyway on the rare.
4. Cheeky parking charges as you have to park your car in public car park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 598yahamatahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear 598yahamatahir

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to the staff and will get housekeeping to investigate the cleanliness issue that you found in your room.

The hotel as you stated does not have it's own car park as with many of the hotels located in the city centre, we do however offer good value with a charge of £3.00 per 24hours if your car is unmoved and you get your ticket validated at the Hotel Reception.

Kind regards

Dean Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 571 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Forget the reviews about this hotel being difficult to find, if you do your homework and look out for the leisure exchange signs you can't go wrong! Plenty of cheap parking, good variety of places to eat and nice clean friendly hotel. Check in was quick and easy, very efficient & friendly staff. Road outside was quite noisy but did not affect our stay. Good size rooms and loved the large shower! Can not rate the breakfast as we were a little hungover - whoops! Would definitely recommend and stay again for this bargain price of £35

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Nicky W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent saty with us.
I am glad that you found the hotel easy to find, there are numerous signs for the leisure exchange on all routes it, and the car park does have over 900 spaces (parking on level four will give same level access to the Plaza where the hotel is situated.

I will pass on your comments to the team and it is good to hear that you found the 21 day advance saver rate value for money which includes breakfast Wifi and Vat.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the area

Kind regards

Dean Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked two rooms on the 26TH August (Bank Holiday) for a family trip out. I had read that the hotel was accessed from the 4th floor of a multi story car park which was problematic but other than that the reviews on trip advisor had good scores. The car pack lived up to its billing as not family friendly when you have a baby and a 3 year old in tow. We didn’t notice any signs form the car park to the hotel entrance.
The reception is on the second floor and is only accessible by the lift on first arrival as the stairs require a key card to open the doors.
Only one of the two very small lifts worked. One baby in a buggy and it was full.
We where given two rooms on the top floor which ruled out the stair option. Unfortunately we also noticed the unsafe state of the lift control box in the forth floor lift corridor. I would hate to think a lift engineer had left the control box partly taped shut with the screws lying on the carpet BUT if someone else had been playing with the lift control circuits??
In both rooms the bathroom ventilation didn’t work. The two vending machines in reception where both out of order. Breakfast was a total disaster. The two staff on reception appeared to be the only employees on duty and had to work between the desk and buffet breakfast bar.
If Holiday Inn Express are cutting so many corners please ensure the safety of your customers and don’t advertise a breakfast that can’t be provided.
We did complain which resulted in the car park fee being refunded (£3.50)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Peter H

Thank you for your comments re your stay with us.

We are located on the lesiure exchange site on which there is a multi storey car park that does have signage as you drive in, informing guests to park on level four for the hotel, on any other level by the lifts signs are in place informing guests that the hotel is accessible by the fourth floor. On exit to the plaza it is a short walk to the hotel entrance.

I do not think the lifts are very small as you state they are 1.5 by 1.2 metres. I am sorry that one was not working during your stay, we did encounter an issue over that weekend and had engineers on site attempting to resolve it.

The lift control box was not unsafe the controls are contain in a metal case that is locked and that is surrounded by a wooden frame. this is what you saw tapped up(damge to it had occured ) under no circumstances would the lift controls been able to be accessed by anyone.

During breakfast there were three staff on duty. Breakfast is self service and at no time did food run out during the morning of the 27th, but it can become very busy at times and i am sorry if this impacted on your stay.

The hotel takes safety and security very seriously and we are not cutitng corners, We do aim to meet guest expectations every time and reviews on this very site concur with this. If you wish to discuss your stay directly with me then please email at gm@hiexpressbradford.co.uk

Kind regards

Dean Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed over on Sunday 26th August, a party of 6 4 adults and two children (3yr old and a baby 7months). On arrival we found that one of the lifts was out of order. After finally getting to the reception we checked in with no problem to be given rooms on the 4th floor!! with a baby in a buggy!! Used the lift again to get to the 4th floor and the lifts give the wrong floor info over the speakers to what you are actually on and on exiting the lift the door housing some lift equipment was open (had been taped closed). Once in the room it was standard as expected apart from the extract fan in the bathroom not working, TV remote control faulty and someone had bunged toilet paper in the spy hole.
We were told breakfast was 6:30am-9:30am and all went down at approx 8:30am, upon arriving at the breakfast area it was quite busy but not as busy as it could have been, we had to wait a while for cups/glasses and then when we went to get some breakfast we found no plates! Once the plates did arrive there was no cuttlery!! There was also no bread for toast and when someone brought it out it was a half a loaf which was gone instantly, tables were not cleared either when people had finished. All of the vending machines were also out of order!!!
It was clear that the hotel was under staffed as the girl working on reception on the morning was also seen wiping down a table and bringing out a handful of plates and cuttlery.
I would avoid this hotel in the future and if staying in the area would advise to stay at the Premier Inn which is nearby!!
Parking for the Holiday inn is also very poor!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wokiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Workiuk

Thank you for your comments re your recent stay with us i have detailed below each of the issues you faced

Over the weekend we did have a lift breakdown occur and had engineers in trying to rectify the issue but due to it being a bank holiday they were unable to obtain parts, i am sorry if this delayed you in getting to the room.

You were allocated a room on the fourth floor as you had a child with you and the other floors were already occupied by festival goers who may have disturbed you during your stay.

The Lift control box was at no time left open they are encased in a secure metal box which has a wooden surround (this is what you saw tapped as it had suffered damage ).

The bathrooms have an extract system that is located on the roof of the building and as such you do not hear any motor running whilst in the bathroom. As with any extract system if there is a sucession of showering then it will take a short while for the steam to clear in the room.

When you arrived at breakfast we had just had most of the guests eat breakfast so was in the process of replenishing all items. I do not like any guest having to wait for items and am sorry if this impacted on your breakfast. The breakfast room is a self service and clear set up and when you arrived at breakfast there was a table for you to eat breakfast at, after a busy period it is not always possiable to have every table cleaned and cleared, we aim to ensure that there is always at least four tables clean and cleared at any one time when guests chosse not to self clear thier table.

The hotel staff work as a team and a receptionist is not static behind the desk and they do assit in the delivery of the breakfast service.

Finally you mentioned that parking is very poor for the hotel, the hotel is located on the lesiure exchange and the exchange has a multi storey carpark on site. There is signage as you drive in informing you to park on level four and by all the lifts on the other floors there is also signage directing you to the fourth floor. The car park is well lit and manned 24 hours, but as you did not elaborate on what you found poor it it diffiuclt to comment further.

Once again thank you for your views i hope my responses go some way to explain some of the issues you faced during your stay.

Kind regards

Dean Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel overnight on 26th August 2012. We were in Bradford for a family party. We had 8 rooms booked and some of our party also stayed Saturday. However, I am only reviewing our stay. Not easy to access and carpark not easy to find. We arrived in the entrance and found the lifts out of order. The Reception is on the 2nd floor. Carrying bags etc up about 8 flights of stairs and I needed oxygen when I arrived in Reception. I mentioned it and was told the left hand lift was working. Pity they couldn't have put notices up to say!!! We checked in and the rooms she gave us were not ready so she had to change them. We had a connecting door which was handy. My son and grandson were in a twin room. The kettle did not work, the bathroom door handle was coming off and there was no tea only coffee. My hair dryer didn't work either. We were told breakfast was served between 7 o'clock and 10-30. We had a text from our relatives to say that it was finishing at 9-30 and when we arrived there was nothing left. I also saw other people come down looking for breakfast who had been told the same times. There were no cups or glasses or bowls or plates. No milk and certainly very little food. When mentioned that we were given the wrong time nothing was said. No response. We noticed also the vending machines were out of order. We expected the same service we receive at Premier Inns but unfortuately we didn't book this Hotel and assumed it would be as good. The best thing about this Hotel the parking was very cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annr1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear annr 1949

Thank you for your comments re your stay with us last sunday.

I am sorry that the lifts were out of order on your arrival . we did have clear signage stating that the right hand lift was not working.

In your review you do not state if you reported the issues you had in the room , if you had i am sure my staff would have corrected them promptly.

The comments you make about breakfast are surprising as I was in fact doing breakfast on the morning of the 27th and we had food out well past 10am and i do not recall anyone coming and complaining that there was nothing left. If this had been the case i would have met your requirements . We most certainly did not run out of food.

We do offer good value for money with a free breakfast and as with all businesses equipment does break down, and due to it being a bank holiday it does make it more difficult for us to be able to obtain parts required to fix some equipment.

Kind regards

Dean long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night for work. Hotel is a bit tricky to find (in middle of leisure park) and to locate car park is not easy. Once you leave car park hotel is next to cinema with reception is on first floor.

If you do not use the lists there is 4 flights of stairs to reception. The staff were extemely friendly and just outside are loads of places to eat.

Room Tip: Suggest do not choose a front or side facing external room, the roads outside are very busy & ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

stumpy 12345

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments regarding the staff as this is one of our main focuses to make the differecne during a guests stay.

We are looking at ways that we will be able to direct people to the lesiure exchange more effectively and i am currently working with the site owners to achieve this .

Kind regards

Dean Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here as a stop over for a few nights. The hotel is quite hard to locate but once you know where to park it really is very easy to access the hotel. It has a brilliant location, train and bus stations across the road (which we used quite a lot) a Pizza Hut, Frankie and Benny's Chinese and a nachos outside the main entrance. The walk into the city centre only takes about 5/10 mins and there is also a free city bus which you can hop on and off as you wish. Very useful for getting around. On arriving it is strange that reception is located on the second floor but this becomes clear when you see the vew at breakfast time. Young man on reception was not very friendly and a bit off putting when checking in (could do with a crash course in customer care) but the young lady was excellent. Rooms were good size and imaculate as was bathroom. Only problem the mattress was very uncomfortable. Good security throughout the hotel which made you feel safe. Breakfast was excellent plenty to eat and a huge choice, not what I was expecting at all so it was an added bonus. We had a fantastic stay at a great price and would not hesitate to book again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanLong, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Reds 115

Thank you for taking the tiem to review your recent stay at the hotel. We do aim to offer our guests great value for money especially in the current climate we are all living in.

I will pass on your comments to the staff re breakfast and will certainly share your comments about check in to the team.

We look fowrard to welcoming you to our hotel should you be in the area.

Kind regards

Dean Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Great Victoria Hotel
The Great Victoria Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
841 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
558 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre

Address: Leisure Exchange Vicar Lane, Bradford BD1 5LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range: $51 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre is located within the Leisure Exchange, a restaurant and leisure complex just a short walk from the centre of Bradford. The hotel is within easy reach of the motorway network, 10 miles from Leeds Bradford International Airport and only 12 miles out of Leeds. Bradford Interchange Station is behind the hotel for catching a bus or train. Each room features a choice of soft and firm pillows, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, irons and en-suites with power showers. The Express Start breakfast is included for guests and offers cereals, toast, pastries and fruit as well as four hot items: bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. The snack menu is available in the hotel's Great Room lounge for light bites including panini's, pizzas and curry and the lounge bar is open throughout the day for drinks. For fun days, head to the nearby National Media museum, Bradford Ice Arena or Broadway Shopping Centre, all less than 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre Hotel Bradford
Holiday Inn Bradford
Bradford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing