We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cafe not a bar.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sparrow

The Sparrow
Ranked #64 of 675 Restaurants in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A relaxed 'bier cafe' in Bradford centre selling over 80 different beers. Bradford CAMRA pub of the year 2012. As featured in 2013's Good Beer Guide and in The Guardian's top 10 UK craft beer bars!
Bradford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A cafe not a bar.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place looks more like a cafe from decades ago, very sparse interior the bar is just a plain thing stuck at the bottom of a box shaped room, just an old boring shop opened as a bar, terrible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bantambouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good beer - fun spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

There was a good atmosphere when we arrived on a Friday evening. At first, we thought that the bar might be more of a young persons hang-out but there was, in fact, a wide age range among the drinkers. We didn't have food so can't comment on that. There were 4 real ales on draft and many bottled beers from which to choose. Because it is more of a 'beer cafe', the tables and chairs had a retro cafe look. We enjoyed our beers, but, like some other reviewers, wouldn't have wanted to make an evening of it as the seating is a bit uncomfortable for a long session. That said, great to drop in for a good beer in a slightly different atmosphere!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome bar, great beers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A fantastic bar selling top quality craft beers, ciders and local ales.
Extremely knowledgable and passionate staff. Nicely run, with a nice vibe.
Very good prices too.. Especially being used to London and Leeds.. This place is great.

Can't comment on the food as I've not eaten there.. I believe bar snacks are served.
Who needs food when you have all that amazing beer though?

Recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdotpasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
383 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice bar with decent real ales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

As previous reviewers have said its different to a pub . It reminds me of Bar North in Leeds.
Six of us called in on a Bradford pub crawl. Not our usual sort of watering hole but it had won a CAMRA award so we gave it a try.
Very quiet at lunchtime. Apart from us just on other customer who was lunching.
The beer was good with four real ales on offer.
No comfortable seating. Just small chairs and tables so much more of a cafe atmosphere.
It's the type of place I'd call in for a drink in mixed company but I wouldn't personally stay for an evening.
A place more for younger people than our group I suspect.
I can't comment on the food but would give it a try on my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowvalleyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hidden on a little back street not for from the train station we found the Sparrow Bier Cafe. It was packed when we visited (2 couples) and this made for a really buzzing, friendly atmosphere. No problem getting served and there are plenty of seats up and down stairs.

Absolutely loads of options for drinks - and very reasonably priced. You could go here 20 times and never drink the same thing twice. Cracking little bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sparrow also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sparrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing