We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Park That Has Everything”
Review of Lister Park

Lister Park
Ranked #10 of 81 things to do in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bradford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Park That Has Everything”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Visited on a Sunday afternoon. Been past many times but never been here. Why did we wait so long? This park has something for everybody and though we were there for a good 2-3 hours I didn't see every thing. The grandkids loved the two play areas, one for pre-school and the other for those older. There is a large boating lake with pedal and rowing boats for hire. Loads of wildfire to feed. A cafe where you can sit outside and look at the lake. The park does appear to be well maintained we saw no litter and and the grass and flower beds all looked smart. In the centre of the park is Cartwright Hall, a magnificent building in its own right but housing a very interesting collection that includes paintings by Hockney and Turner. Adjacent to the art gallery is Mughal Gardens a lovely setting that features cascades and fountains, water being the central theme in this beautiful garden. There were large areas of the park I didn't get to see such as the botanical gardens, sculpture, a waterfall so there's many a reason for a quick return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Redlands67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    59
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This park is so under rated by people. It's one of the best parks I've seen and I've never come across any trouble. It's always relaxing although the swings section gets really packed in Summer and school hols. I've took the kids to the gardens part of the park and there is a little stream there with loads of trees, flowers, it's really enchanting and much more fun even for the kids than the swings if it;'s really busy. We always take a fishing net and fish out pine cones which is equally cool as the swings!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank herbaltea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wibsey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Walk”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's not often i go for walks in parks but this one is fantastic, very scenic and relaxing. It's geat for walking a dog or just sitting to feed the ducks in the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Artwork”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the park is worth a stroll around. There is a boating lake and an outdoor café, which is not always open. The childrens playground is excellent. There are water features around the Cartwright Hall, which houses the artwork, and changing displays. It is free. Cartwright Hall is a lovely old stone building.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Gorgeous park with glorious gardens, fountains, sculpture and a friendly eclectic art gallery in the middle. Fun and free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lister Park also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Lister Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing