We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Work, work and more work"”
Review of The Bradford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bradford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Checking In-Like Joe P, my colleague and I were not aware that the Hotel was no longer part of the Hilton Group. I had made the booking on the previous Friday through the works website and there was no notification on there. The Hotel had changed hands that day and the staff were still uncertain if they had a job or not. That fact did not detract from the first rate service they provided.
On checking in, as always I asked for a quiet room. Hmmm the Hotel is situated on a main road in front of the train and bus station. Both of us had booked a QueenRoom, but these are situated on the first floor. The checkin lady (Sorry I have forgotten her name as I am behind with my reviews) suggested that the quietest rooms would be on the upper floors, facing the road, but with only a double bed not a queen/King. The room would be of a higher spec than the queen and she would upgrade me for free.
Tea Tray- plenty of tea, coffee, milk etc that was replenished daily. Can't remember if we got bikkies or not.
Room- My first thought was OMG-This room is right facing the clock, which was chiming 6pm. How can this be a quiet room with that thing going off every 15 mins, fear not it is turned off at 11pm and comes back on at 6am. Phew! The room looked like it has recently been refurbished and although it was not as large as my colleagues, it was fine.
Bathroom- Lovely and clean with a bath and plenty of shampoo, soap etc the towels were also fluffy and white.
Breakfast- Exactly the same as what you get at any Hilton Chain. My colleague wanted porridge, which she could not see. The chef made some especially for her and asked how she liked it- It came out as requested.
Dinner- We don't usually eat in the Hotel, but it was pourind down, so we thought we would give it a try. A few things on the menu were not available, but we were made aware of this as soon as we sat down. We both had steak- My colleague has it still alive and I have it medium- Both were cooked to perfection and brought out at the same time piping hot.
Pudding- I asked for a variation on the ice cream that they had on the menu. The chef made it to my specification (With loads of rapberry coulis) delicious.
Like Joe P our payment had not been processed, but unlike some hotels the staff did not demand we paid on checking in and said they would sort it before we checked out- They did.
I am sooo glad that all the staff at this hotel got to keep their jobs, as they are a credit to the hotel- You would not have guessed what turmoil was going on behind the smiles, unless you took time to ask- which I did.
A big Thank you to all the staff from Donna and Jac for making our work trip to Bradford as enjoyable as possible and providing this hotel is available through our works on line booking system I will be staying here if I need to visit Bradford in future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel are quieter than the back- Rooms on low floors have larger beds, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Botica1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Public Relations Manager at The Bradford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 309 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have stopped here many times when it was a Hilton and was not aware until I turned to park that it was no longer in the chain. The hotel it self is good value and good location. The staff were more than helpful especially as Hilton had not passed over all my booking details. Rooms clean and tidy, very warm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joep735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Public Relations Manager at The Bradford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I attended an awards ceremony held at this hotel last night and just wanted to say how well I was looked after having notified them that I needed a gluten free meal as I am a coeliac - this was done all without fuss and I even had a gluten free cup cake! - very impressed - thankyou.

Joelle Bacon

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank 691David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Public Relations Manager at The Bradford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked a deluxe room at this hotel as a weekend city break. The location in relation to the city centre is good. BUT The rooms were of poor standard, carpets dirty, and in poor state of repair. We had a theft from our room which the hotel say they have investigated, but we feel they have just dismissed. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarke243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Public Relations Manager at The Bradford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I booked to stay at the Hilton Bradford hotel in October for a June stay. We were going to a show at The Alhambra. On the night before we were due to stay I went onto my Hilton online account and found that although this stay was there, I could not find out any information. The message that I got inferred that there was a problem with the site (nothing unusual for Hilton). My husband googled the hotel on another site for directions and got a map of Bradford showing that the hotel was permanently closed. I then phoned the no. on my booking and found that the hotel still existed,, but was no longer owned by Hilton. Why did nobody tell us.
We arrived at reception and the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We asked for a quiet room and they gave us one on the fourth floor, facing the street, which they said was quieter than the ones overlooking the taxi rank and interchange. With double glazing in the room there was not a lot of noise. However, it was very warm, no air con to speak of and we could not open a window, so that was uncomfortable. The cleanliness of the room was adequate. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was good, with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindagreenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Public Relations Manager at The Bradford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Formerly the Hilton, this hotel in central Bradford did not live up to expectations. Our deluxe room was adequate but lacked basic things like literature regarding the hotel and information about the Bradford area. We had an early evening meal in the City 3 restaurant which was quite pricey and the floor around our table was covered in crumbs. Breakfast, buffet style, was disappointing and of poor quality. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Public Relations Manager at The Bradford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I've just sat my M249 practical modern statistics exam in a wonderful function room at the Hilton, Bradford. I had a large table (big enough for at least 4 people) all to myself. The table was covered in a brilliant white tablecloth. All my examination papers, answer booklet, information papers and everything I needed was neatly laid out in front of me, ready to start my exam.

The room was large enough for a banquet, with a shuttered bar running down the left hand side. Tables were placed in rows on either side of the room, side on to the bar, with an aisle in between each row, and an even larger isle in the centre of the room. My table was at the back of the room, bang in the middle of the centre isle. The room was spacious and sitting at the back, I felt like queen of all I surveyed. It was a marvellous view with plenty of 'thinking' space in between all of the desks.

At the front of room stood a curtained stage, and in front of the stage, directly opposite me, the moderator sat, quietly moderating. It was such a peaceful and lovely atmosphere, like being on holiday. The pressure I anticipated from having taken previous exams just wasn't there.

What a wonderful experience. Thank you Hilton, Bradford.

Room Tip: Excellent location for conferences (or exams). Lovely front of house welcome and plenty of staff on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoWiseBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moez R, Public Relations Manager at The Bradford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.1 mi away
The Great Victoria Hotel
The Great Victoria Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
760 reviews
2.6 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
558 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bradford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bradford Hotel

Address: Hall Ings | West Yorkshire, Bradford BD1 5SH, England (Formerly Hilton Bradford)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bradford
Price Range: $36 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bradford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bradford Hotel is located in the heart of the city and is the perfect base for both leisure and business travellers alike. Flexible spaces and state-of-the-art facilities make it the ideal venue for corporate meetings, social gatherings or special occasions. Our stylish guest rooms, professional services and host of amenities ensure a memorable and productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bradford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bradford Hotel Bradford
Hilton International Bradford
Bradford Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing