We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit was very good”

The Stansfield Arms
Ranked #16 of 721 Restaurants in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Stansfield Arms dates back to 1543 and is a beautiful beamed historical pub. There are lots of different areas with varying ceiling heights, nook and crannies and not a straight line! It is Family run, our crown and glory.We serve good homemade food all day, every day and have real ales as well as a good wine list.Set in the idyllic Apperley Bridge area, near the River Aire and open countryside it is popular with walkers, cyclists, dog owners all year round. Perfect in the summer on our very large south facing patio area and cosy in the winter by our open fires.We have a large car park.We are famous for our award winning early bird, £12.95 For two courses off the main menu and our Sunday lunches that starts from £9.95. Chris and Nick Green
Reviewed October 11, 2013

First time we had been to The Stansfield Arms after having many people tell us it was well worth a visit...we weren't disappointed.

Went with my Mum and fiancee and it was a very good experience. I had the pork belly and pulled pork which was very tasty.

The atmosphere is great and the place its self is very nicely decorated, whilst retaining the historic decor.

Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2wreckless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear 2wreckless,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. It is always nice to hear if you have enjoyed your first visit.
Come back soon!

Nick Green
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 684 of 877 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food is very good indeed, but the staff are outstanding. Not just professional, knowledgeable and courteous, but real human beings who take their personalities to work so that you feel very welcome.

Major chains recite the mantra for their view of good service, and there's a script for every situation, but this is the real thing.

All credit to the owners too. They have hired good people and allow them to operate. It's very rare.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Steven H,

Thank you for your kind review! I will make sure to let the staff know you think they are world class.
Thanks again for taking the time to do a positive review.

Nick Green
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely atmosphere ,great food and friendly service.Good selection of specials and interesting 'theme nights'
Visit often and never let down !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Neil E,

Thank you for your kind review! Hope to see you on our live music evening or for our Beajolais Nouveau/French weekend!
Never a dull day!

Many thanks,
Nick Green
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After several weekday visits during the week, I can say this has become our favourite place to eat. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The service is great and the food also. We have always enjoyed our visits here and been seated and served in a timely manner. On Sunday 29/09/13 we took our family for a meal and was unpleasantly suprised that although the staff were friendly enough they appeared to be struggling due to the amount of customers. We were given conflicting information about ordering and eating outside, when we did order however the service was up to its usual high standard and so was the food. The only other disappointing memory is hearing other diners complaining also about the staff: customer demand when paying our bill. I would recommend the Stansfield but perhaps not on a Sunday as it could prevent you going back to what is a great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank naomi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear naomi b,

I am sorry to hear that you found your Sunday meal not up to our usual standard of service. The decking does get very busy on nice days and sometimes we have to take a break when serving food out there in order to let the kitchen catch up as the decking can triple the amount of diners when busy.
I am sorry if this resulted in conflicting messages. We always give priority for pre-booked tables in this instance. Sunday's are very popular and can get busy which is lovely.
Hope to see you back soon.

Nick Green
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

From the moment i entered this restauarnt for the first time i fell in love. The charm and character The Stansfield Arms offers is unrivalled by anyone else in the area and you feel it from the moment you enter to the moment you leave. Apart from the atmosphere, the food is something else. The quality and choice is incredible and you I have never ever been disappointed. The early bird in particular is wonderful value for money and full of variation. There is a constant array of staff on hand and nothing seems to much. There is plenty of car parking and the marqee at Christmas and New year is a must. If i ever want to impress friends or family, or just have a good time this is always my first choice and i never got bored nor am i disappointed. Its a definate friday night wind down after work, but also for the people who enjoy local history you can hear all about Lord Stansfield and the battle hastings. This place literally is my second Home

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stansfield Arms also viewed

Menston, West Yorkshire
Apperley Bridge, Bradford
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Stansfield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing