We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Great Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed February 21, 2014

we stopped on the 1st floor and was pleasantly surprised how spacious the room was with a king size bed, we where lucky though as other people from our party didnt have hot water or heating which i know the hotel staff provided them with heaters. the only problem i would say is if there is a function on (which we didnt know about when booking through skills coaches) the noise is loud till the early hours and if you get a guest that is falling out with security staff and breaking furniture this also spoils your sleep. Overall i enjoyed my stay and would still go back-maybe to a room higher than the 1st floor!

Room Tip: you pay more money to stop on a higher floor but might be worth it for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Julie

I thank you for your comments and apologise with regards to the incident that happened while you were here.

We always endeavour to end all our functions by 1am and do book these first floor rooms out last if a function is present, the hotel was infact full that night so my condolences.

I hope to see you again soon

Kind Reagrds
Dan Kirkham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 842 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed here for one night on business after a recommendation from someone else. A great hotel with lots of character. Nice big rooms and comfortable beds and a great breakfast. Was very surprised at the quality for the price. My only complaint was that I had a front facing room on the first floor opposite the station and bus stop so it did get a little bit noisy at pub closing time and early in the morning

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_cj_gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Mr Gardener

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay at The Great Victoria Hotel.

Something that may be of help for your future reference when booking a room, for the more leisurely guests that enjoy a quiet nights sleep we can always accommodate to the law court side of the hotel at the rear upon request.

I look forward to seeing you again soon and will take your comments back to my team.

Kind Regards
Daniel Kirkham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Good central location. Free parking.
Old Victorian hotel with a lot of its old charm.
Second visit. First time very disappointed with service, cleanliness and room. However on this occasion stayed on fourth floor. Contemporary rooms. Had room 406. Large room with wooden 4 poster bed large! Nice bathroom with rain shower and sit alone bath tub. Thousand times better than last visit. Room clean. However still had some issues such as large crack in washbasin and toilet. Also when you had shower soaked the whole bathroom floor!

Breakfast was good and freshly made to order.

Definitely worth the extra for better rooms.

Room Tip: Fourth floor room. However lift only goes to third floor so you need to be able to walk up approxima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Tracey B, Thank you for taking the time to review us and I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the 4th Floor as we do have some very desirable rooms up there.

We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Bradford.

Regards
Dan Kirkham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

While working in Bradford I had lunch at the Great Victoria Hotel on the recommendation of a friend. I was not disappointed. I met up with a couple of friends and we opted for a light lunch of sandwiches and burgers - all the food was freshly prepared and very tasty. The service was good - friendly and efficient and for a midweek lunchtime it was reasonably busy
I would certainly go back.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Found the staff very friendly and the room was clean and tidy, it appears that they might have sorted out their central heating problem which left the rooms very stuffy. The breakfast was very good value and was hot. Would stay here again next time in Bradford in 3/4 months time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Steve G, Thank you for your kind review and I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best

Dan Kirkham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

As always we had a fantastic visit to your hotel. We love the rooms, the welcoming environment and the friendly and helpful reception, waiting, bar and housekeeping staff. We always stay when we visit Bradford and I look forward it every time!

Thank you Great Victoria and all the best for 2014! Hope to see you very soon.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Cat H, Thank you so much for your kind words about this beautiful hotel and about my dedicated team. It’s greatly appreciated and very rewarding to hear such wonderful comments.

I too hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Dan Kirkham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

i stayed for the weekend after chrismas and really enjoyed my 3 night stay, the forth floor room was gorgeous, clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly,i would recomend this hotel to friends the only minor issue i had was that one of the taps in my shower was broken and even though i reported this to housekeeping it wasnt fixed by the time i checked out

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank emmawhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, General Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear emmwhitty, Thank you for your kind review and I must agree with you, our 4th Floor rooms are particularly nice. I am sorry however that we were unable to fix the shower part before you checked out to which I can only apologise for and I trust that this did not affect your stay greatly.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Dan Kirkham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Victoria Hotel

Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range: $50 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand old-fashioned hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing