We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between Very Good and Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Great Victoria Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in November for a weekend away, upon arrival the reception area was lovely and staff very helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor, you can get the lift upto the 3rd floor but you have to walk up the stairs to reach level 4. The room was very well decorated with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a very nice shower, but there was no shelf or space around the sink to put thing i.e toothbrush which meant you had to put it behind the toilet! On the first night we ate in the restaurant which was basically in the basement of the building, this was spacious but a little bland in terms of decor. The food however was good apart from being given half of a tomato that mold on it. The breakfast provided was good, with a good selection to choose from, on the Sunday however it was basically a self service breakfast, and there wasn't really any service apart from the tables being cleared, which was very quick to the point of i hadnt finished chewing the last mouthful when they took my plate away which was a little disappointing. All in all we had a nice stay and there were only a few small things that slightly let the hotel down.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback about your stay in Great Victoria.
We appreciate especially regarding lack of shelving unit in the bathroom. It has been passed onto our Team and dealt with.

In regards to your restaurant experience, we serve high quality fresh food from local suppliers and I am sorry to hear that it happen to be different during your dinner. Hot buffet style breakfast is served to reduce waiting time when hotel hosts large number of guests.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 861 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

Myself and my work colleagues attended The Great Victoria Hotel for a christmas party. The atmosphere was fantastic. The room had beautiful oak pannelling and origional features, blended with an ultra modern touch. The staff were professional, friendly and attentive. We were seated at our table, which set the festive scene, next to the christmas tree. The starters were brought out, and even though there were lots of people to serve, the waitresses asked if we requested anything else. There was adequate time left between each course. The food was fresh and cooked extremely well and I could not fault any one of the three courses. A DJ was provided, which got everyone on the floor dancing. I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to put your comment. We are pleased to hear you and your colleagues had great time during Christmas Party in our Hotel.

We look forward to your next visit in Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This was the first Hotel I took my wife to nearly 16 years ago; In the interim period I had often checked their web site but had refrained from booking a return visit as it appeared to have 'changed' and become quite 'modern' and I suppose that I wanted to remember it as the fabulous place we had first visited together all those years ago.
Having read recent reviews I decided it was well overdue a return visit and booked a weekend for our wedding anniversary and wife's birthday.
I needn't have worried the room we were allocated was still as wonderful as on our first visit, with the added bonus of modern bathroom fittings. All the 'public' areas were as elegant as we remember, the entrance lobby and the dining area were beatifully decorated for Christmas and there was a welcoming fire in the reception area.
On the second night we dined in the Hotel Restaurant and because we chose to eat early had the dining room to ourselves and the exceptional meal was served by Evia and her colleague who deserve special praise for making our weekend memorable.
Hopefully we will return, but not leave it so long this time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel and that we could help make it memorable for you and your wife on that special occasion.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed on the 4th Floor, a real treat. Individually designed luxurious rooms, great spaces to spend a few nights in.

As always, there is a 'however' ... there are little details that just slightly spoil the fun ... there are small service issues, lack of attention to detail, and it's hard to put the finger on what exactly it is. It is a bit like someone has had great ideas, did 95% of the work and then lost interest - actually a bit disappointing, because the Great Victoria has it all, space, location, value for money, and and and to be an outstanding place, at the moment it is above average, but could do with finishing on the extra 5%!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th floor, so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTravelGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dera Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful in improving our standards.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have just returned from a nights stay. This is a lovely hotel, the staff are extremely friendly and service was very good. The food was of a very high standard and excellent value for money. The room was lovely and clean. Sitting slap bang in the middle of the city with a car park as well it is also convenient. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Great Victoria Hotel and look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Got a good price of £42 for a comfortable double room. Staff pleasant and helpful apart from not warning me that the wi fi had been playing up for the previous two weeks and might not be working when I asked for the log in password. Very irritating that the wi-fi kept on dropping out without knowing why. Also poor choice of television channels and (in common with just about every other hotel) no radio. No real ale in the bar, so did not try it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrytBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Only paid £55 for a luxury room plus a two course meal with wine.

Pro's

1. Nice modern room
2.comfy beds
3. Lovely meal
4. Great breakfast delivered to the room on time
5. Nice bar for pre dinner drinks
6. Attractive lobby
7. Free parking
8. Central location
9. Customer service was excellent, they dealt swiftly with the noise problem ( see cons below)

Cons

1. Bathrooms let the side down, not as modern as the bedroom.
2. Toilet didnt flush properly
3. Bath was a bit grimy around the tiles
4. Bed side tables dust
5. There was a loud function directly below our room, going on until the early hours, however when we complained they moved us to a quieter room ( down grade but didn't care, just wanted to sleep)

We really enjoyed our stay. The good out weighs the bad. Would recommend. Cons are minor when you consider the value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyable stay and we appreciate all your feedback. All points mentioned had been rectified and dealt with.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bradford
318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Bradford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Victoria Hotel

Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range: $58 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand old-fashioned hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing