We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Celebration”

Sweet Centre Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 706 Restaurants in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sweet Centre Restaurant has been providing authentic asian cuisine for over 48 years in the heart of yorkshire and continues to be instrumental in providing good quality family orientated kashmiri cuisine. The restaurant offers an experience with charming staff, good service and exceptional quality of food to ensure guests come back for more. Sweet Centre restaurant provides an authentic surrounding combined with authentic tradional taste, making it perfect for any occasion. Since opening our doors in 1964, Sweet Centre Restaurant has become a distinguished household name, with a strong following. We hope to continue in providing you with Excellent Food & Service and hope to build on our reputation.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

25 of us enjoyed a memorable family Birthday at the Sweet Centre. We had the banquet comprising of a variety of starters and curries made to order. My parents whose Birthday it was were presented with a beautiful homemade cake by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble even though it was a busy Saturday evening. Many thanks from all of the family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    75
    43
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nelson lancashire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable and excellent food!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Been coming here for the past 21 years. It is very reasonable to come with family. The food is delicious!!! Service is good.

Munir

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aiishah18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

No idea why it's as highley rated. No curry connoisseur would give it a good rating. Mediocre currys. It does the job but far far better places elsewhere. Quality of meat isn't the best either. Starters their seekh kebabs are the best but main courses a let down. Garnished with lashings of raw ginger the currys were disappointing. Consistently the food has been disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Outstanding Cuisine and Great People”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Sweet Centre has to be the best Indian Cuisine I have ever tasted.

This was a family gathering, so this gave us the opportunity to taste many different dishes, what a banquet!

The fish starters are absolutely superb, cod marinated in walnut oil and then lightly fried with a delicate batter coating and mild spices, never tasted anything quite like this.

The tandori chicken is superb too, again the spicing is wonderful with that delicious charcoal/bbq taste which is impossible to do without the right grill and cooking expertise.

For mains, I chose the balti chicken jalfrezi but I also tried the chicken korma and king prawn bhuna. Absolutely outstanding dishes, rich spices and a complex evolving sequence of tastes with every mouthful. The rice is delicately fragranced and there is also a special type of naan bread which has coconut on it and is also slightly sweet, Again, totally unique and compliments the curries perfectly.

Everyone is so friendly there, you really get the impression that the food is cooked with love and attention, it is that good.

For desert, we had home made ice-cream and dumplings, as well as a semolina-based dessert. (I cannot remember the name of these, sorry)These desserts were delicious, sweet without being too sweet and very, very unique.

All in all a wonderful dining experience where our family were made to feel most welcome and at home.

Brilliant, thank you Waqar and family for your hospitality and wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GNeuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

me and my partner have been coming here for years, the staff are friendly and welcoming and
the food is really nice. we have been to other curry restaurants also but we always come back to the sweet centre. it is warm clean and the prices are very reasonable, we are always satisfied with what we order and have paid much more at other places for a meal that was no where near as nice as here. ( tip ) the onion bharjies are the best we have tasted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Centre Restaurant also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sweet Centre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing