We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A birthday dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Castizo

El Castizo
Ranked #1 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our second visit to El Castizo and, once again, a fabulous evening was had! Twelve of us visited on 17th September 2012 to celebrate a friend's birthday and the lady half of the couple who own the restaurant (who's name I have shamefully forgotten!) did her utmost to make us feel welcome, well-fed and happy.

We had the £17 per head fixed-price menu and the food was amazing: beautifully cooked, fast and efficient with plenty of choice. Everyone had more than enough to eat (some of us, too much so!) and the evening was loud, jolly and a whole lot of fun.

I love sharing food and wine with friends and family this way and having now visited El Castizo both as part of a couple and with a large group, it's obvious that the restaurant is well-versed at handling either scenario perfectly.

Thank you for a lovely evening. We'll definitely be back.

Kirsty

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pastiche005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    107
    36
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Visited Chichester to go to the theatre and booked El Castizo on strength of Tripadvisor reviews. Was told was fully booked, but when they realised it was pre theatre, they fitted us in at 6.
We arrived and realised they didn't open till 6 so feared we would be the only people there, but was actually quite busy - I guess other theatre goers.
The service was excellent, promising to get the food to us promptly so we could make the Theatre without rushing. Offered good advice on food and wine and very friendly.
Food was all excellent and reasonably priced - we ordered 6 different dishes between the 2 of us which was more than ample. We particularly enjoyed the Spanish bread with ham, and black pudding with quails eggs was delicious.
As promised we were all done by 7ish, unfortunately the fine food and wine resulted in me sleeping through most of the play!

Helpful?
Thank GoonerPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Arrogance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The prawns and chorizo that came out first were absolutely delicious and so was the sangria I had two glasses however we had the meat balls and paella , paella was lovely but my boyfriend and I did not like the meatballs as they were so sweet, I told him very kindly and smiley that we did not enjoy them and wondered what could be done (as in if it was possible to maybe change for another dish) and he said that that was how they were supposed to be and took offence telling us they were the most popular dish, but he did change for another dish which was ok , and everything was fine until he was talking to te table behind us and decided to tell them how people who complain get on his nerves and can go out the door, and how he hates when people don't like the food even though he was very sure everything was perfect and how he goes into the kitchen, doesn't change it and tells the customer he has and they like it, he told any customer who would listen how he was number 1 on here also and just couldn't believe how he Basicly slagged us off right infront of us

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Little-mooch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“True Spanish Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having been a regular visitor to Spain and its Islands I was a bit cautious about going to a English Tapas bar for a special evening meal. I have to say I shouldn't have been concerned, the food and atmosphere were both excellent! We visited on a busy Saturday evening having booked a table for eight we found the service both helpful and knowledgeable with advice on what to order. All in all as good as visiting Spain without the flights. Will be defiantly returning soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Al Fresco Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visit El Castizo as often as we can because the food and service is superb as well as being good value for money.
My partner and I visited El Castizo last weekend as a last minute treat, they were fully booked in the restaurant but as it was a lovely warm evening was asked to sit outside.
They were more than accommodating; they set up a wonderful candelit table for us before we arrived and were regularly checking to see if we were ok or if we wanted to move indoors.

Gorgeous food, delicious wine and wonderful service everytime!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJAYNE91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Castizo also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to El Castizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing