We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An oasis of calm away from the madding crowd.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Boat House is a real retreat from the hussle and bussle of modern living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boat House is a real retreat from the hussle and bussle of modern living
Quiet areas for sitting reading a book, sunbathing, just spending quality time with your loved one.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Boat House is a real retreat from the hussle and bussle of modern living
Quiet areas for sitting reading a book, sunbathing, just spending quality time with your loved one.
Luxury shower that will envigorate you in the morning or relax you after a day of sightseeing.
Clymping Beach.  Only 10minutes. Parking, pubs and 5 star hotel nearby, for lunch, dinner or drinks
Warm and cosie, even in the snow
Dream location in the winter
Winter escape from the pressures of Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn B
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm away from the madding crowd.”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Situated within easy reach of many popular attractions of West Sussex: Arundel, Fontwell, Brighton to name a few, the Boat House Retreat offers some well-earned peace and quiet. From the comfortable bed to the luxurious shower and well- equipped kitchen, the self- contained accommodation has all the necessary home comforts a traveller could wish for. The owners are on hand to answer any questions without being obtrusive. A superb place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANDKL2
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy, quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A three night stay wasn't long enough! A cosy cottage set in a lovely garden complete with koi pond. Well appointed and quiet, the cottage is within 30 minutes of many attractions and very close to Arundel Castle. There are some great pubs nearby for dinner if you don't fancy cooking. Our hosts were welcoming and happy to point out things we might find of interest. We would happily return to this lovely place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary Ch...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This lovely studio gave us a great relaxing time when we stayed for 4 days having left our campervan with our younger daughter at Glastonbury.
It is a lovely setting just above a very large attractive pond and waterfall.
We were fascinated to see the empty pond, then it's cleaning and finally on the morning that we left the full pond was re-established with water lilies and the fish in full view. Karen and James couldn't have been more generous and helpful.
A really lovely place to stay. Petworth House (NT) is good for a day's visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
192Susan
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and tranquility”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The place is just what we need, to recharge our batteries. It is nice watching fishes very young baby frogs and enjoying birds' baths. Very relaxing and wonderful to have meals on the terrace while admiring the pond life. The venue is very beautiful, with a small kitchen, and a lovely shower room.

It is in a great location between Chichester and Arundel. Our hosts were really lovely and welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev M
Narrogin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfectly appointed, tranquil, couple accommodation”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This little gem is hidden in horse country, at Fontwell, West Sussex, UK. There are many quaint villages very close at hand, and necessity shopping is easy. There are way more attractions in easy driving distance, than we could fit in, in four days. Lots of great little pubs and eating was easy too! On arrival, James showed us on a map, where local attractions and good food was to be found.
James and Karen were delightful hosts. They were helpful when needed and discreetly respectful of quiet space at all other times.
We would definitely recommend this haven and come to stay again if we ever had the chance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
99sueandp...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil studio near Arundel, Sussex”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at the Boat House Retreat three nights. It is aptly named - very well decorated and in a beautiful setting. There is only 'nature' sounds (ducks and dawn chorus give an early wake-up call) and the very occasional car. You can see horses in the adjoining field and there is a lovely garden and pond that you share with the owner but you feel very secluded. You have all you require although I would have liked a large scale O.S. map and some written suggestions of places to eat and visit perhaps would be good (although we were given verbal suggestions and the visitors' book has ideas too). We both really enjoyed our time and hope to revisit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath R
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Recommended”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our third visit here, and as always The Boathouse was immaculately clean and comfortable, James was friendly and helpful, and we had a great stay. The location is great - it's easy for us to visit old friends in Brighton, but also experience the peace of the sea and South Downs Way. We always feel at home here and would recommend to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing