We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #47 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Fox & Hounds pub & restaurant offers fine dining in relaxed, elegant surroundings in the charming village of Funtington, near Chichester in West Sussex, boasting a truly fantastic wine list, well-stocked bar with a wide range of real ales, large garden and impeccable, friendly service.We are open for breakfast and serve meals all day. we are famous for our Sunday Carvery and traditional pub atmosphere. We are be opening our own Village shop in Early 2013
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed down in the Chichester area for Glorious Goodwood and went to numerous restaurants during our stay. This was by far and away the best of the lot on all counts. The food was fantastic and unlike other places, great value. Service was top class and would certainly return again next year

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    94
    50
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horndean, Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions and a bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited the Fox & Hounds recently with friends for the first time. Had a very pleasant evening and very much enjoyed the atmosphere, quality of the food and service. However, I have to say that the portions were not particularly generous, especially given the prices. For the sake of more veg etc. this could be a very much better experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Horndeantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“First time visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Went last Sunday for lunch with friends having been recommended. Waited ages for our drinks to arrive (staff to busy talking amongst themselves). We had the carvery apart from being very expensive it was of a poor standard and they must learn how to cook roast potatoes (by definition roast means roasted in the oven not cooked in a deep fat fryer). Needless to say I will not be visiting again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It is fair to say I visit regularly with my family and it is always good value for money and good food, service at times can be a little slow but when the atmosphere is good and the food and drink equally so it is not really a problem, Sunday lunch is superb and breakfast a real treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value all day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

A wide ranging menu with reasonable prices. Good selection of well kept beers and reasonably priced wines.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C0untryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Stoughton, Chichester
West Ashling, Chichester
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Walderton, Chichester
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing