We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Restaurants in West Sussex”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cassons Restaurant

Cassons Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 238 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $62
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The finest food set in charming relaxed surroundings, cooked by award winning Chef Viv. Out of City with plenty of parking.The owners strive to give each guest an unforgettable experience.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants in West Sussex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I know that's a bit bold but for sheer quality of food and presentation - and of equal importance, consistency, they win all our prizes. We try to eat out at least once a month and Cassons is only matched by 2 other kitchens, one of which is a private club.

Don't be put off by its apparent downside, namely, its location. Being parked on the side of the A27 is hardly prepossessing and it is easy to miss the turning on your first visit. Press on, for the rewards are worth it! Once you are inside, the atmosphere, the welcome, the staff and mein host, Cass - are all delightful, in our experience.

The menu is short - a good thing, as Viv, the chef, knows what she is good at. The food has frankly been outstanding on all our visits and tastes as good as it looks! She is a clever girl! Seek advice from Cass on both the food and the wine. He has an excellent cellar, with wines to satisfy all palates and wallets.

Booking is a MUST and we have never been there when he has been completely full, so I can't comment on how they cope when they are very busy. That said, he is a very experienced and calm restaurateur and I expect all will be well, if a bit slow.

In sum, Cassons is a delightful culinary experience and we look forward, with eager anticipation, to our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilandLidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    52
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food - what a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ate here last night as a group of 4 celebrating a 50th birthday. As many of the other reviews have said, the food is outstanding. I eat in a lot of the smarter London restaurants and for quality of food, Casson's holds its own. Between the 4 of us, we tried a wide variety of the menu - scallops, carpaccio, and goats cheese starters, and venison, suckling pig and grilled Hake (fish of the day) for mains. All very good. But the best, for me at least, was the deserts. Treacle tart and Pain Perdue were both outstanding, but I was secretly very envious of the Mother in Law's Quartet of Deserts! If you like puddings, you shouldn't miss this place! The wine list was extensive, varied and fairly priced for a good restaurant. I chose the Kim Crawford Pinot Noir which went very well with such a mix of main courses. And it was delicious. The house desert wine, by the glass, also works extremely well. The service was suitably discrete, but the staff were chatty if you engaged them. It's a family operation so it would be wrong to expect the polish of the Savoy. The tables are pretty close together so I'd be wary about going here for a really intimate dinner. But for family or group get-togethers, fabulous food, served with care, at a fair (but not cheap) price, it stays on my list and I'll definitely be back before long.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Check your food very carefully!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

After negotiating the large puddle by the entrance, we tried to open the door into the restaurant. We could see the owner watching us try to get in, but he didn't move away from the ipad on the counter to assist us. We finally managed to open the door and were hit by the smell of damp, and a cool reception from 'mein host'. We were shown to our table in what was a cold, soulless and road traffic noisy dining room. Service was prompt but off hand, and when our first course arrived it wasn't long before my wife found a hair in her plate of scallops. This was pointed out to the owner who offered to replace the dish, in an unconcerned manner. The suckling pig main course was unremarkable, and luke warm. The homemade prune and Armagnac ice cream looked good, however when my wife took her second spoonful she found a shard of glass or very hard plastic. This was shown to the owner who immediately took the evidence to the kitchen. He returned a while later after serving at another table, and said the kitchen thought it was a plum stone!!! I pointed out that it was hard enough to make an impression in the wooden table, but he appeared once again, to be unconcerned. We did not eat our puddings and asked for the bill. The owner removed the cost of the puddings and the wine, but did not apologise or show any remorse for what could have been a serious incident.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marleycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Food but .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The food was great as usual although the menu does not change very often. For me timing is crucial. We waited ages to be able to request our glasses of champagne. consequently we had been given our amuse bouche ( some of which was warm ) before the champagne had arrived.
Kim Crawford pinot noir (only by the botle) was again delicious. We arrived early & were sat next to two ladies in the place & although it was interesting to hear their opinions on their grand children I had planned to chat to my husband but it was difficult with the intrusions from our neighbors. As we were the only customers in the restaurant for the first hour why did we have to be put next to the only other customers?

Don't forget to mention & down load voucher to get 20% off in October
£112 for 2 courses with poor timing
may be some time before we return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drsandraBognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Totally charming & fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Cassons restaurant is an absolute gem. The food is totally amazing, with a seasonal menu, using locally sourced produce. The welcome by the staff is friendly yet unassuming, the canapés provided on arrival we're stunning...Viv is a wonderful chef and Cas a great host. The atmosphere is one of charm, character and warmth and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. We will definitely be returning and would recommend Cassons to anyone seeking a restaurant that goes that little extra to make your meal and experience extra special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikkib1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassons Restaurant also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Sidlesham, Chichester
 

Been to Cassons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing