We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally charming & fabulous food”
Review of Cassons Restaurant

Cassons Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 242 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $62
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The finest food set in charming relaxed surroundings, cooked by award winning Chef Viv. Out of City with plenty of parking.The owners strive to give each guest an unforgettable experience.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Totally charming & fabulous food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Cassons restaurant is an absolute gem. The food is totally amazing, with a seasonal menu, using locally sourced produce. The welcome by the staff is friendly yet unassuming, the canapés provided on arrival we're stunning...Viv is a wonderful chef and Cas a great host. The atmosphere is one of charm, character and warmth and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. We will definitely be returning and would recommend Cassons to anyone seeking a restaurant that goes that little extra to make your meal and experience extra special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikkib1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    52
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Saturday night at Cassons, lovely food, good service and very busy. Some others commented that the wine was very expensive, have they never been out before? Road noise Negligible. Quite large portions for such fine food, I had the suckling pig which was as good as any I have eaten. Carpaccio to start with duck egg, wish I didnt live 200 miles away. All in all superb. One tiny niggle was that the main course could have been a bit hotter, but that is being very picky.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SternDaleDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice food but.....”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked to go here for our Wedding Anniversary. We wanted somewhere with a good reputation for a special occasion. The food was nice, slightly small menu but ok. Nice little touches, quite a lot of road noise but there was only one other table in there, maybe didnt help. The thing that annoyed me was the man serving, he kept popping up and making jokes, not what we wanted for that occasion. The toilets also need decorating professionally!!! We felt that the prices didnt match the venue or the food, although it was nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BusterGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godsownacre Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what a great place”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

what a great place, from the warm friendly welcome to the discreet service and delicious food - I selected the restaurant from the internet as my first choice was not available and i'm glad i did - I took my girlfriend here for our first "date" (despite the fact that we have been going out for 4 months !!) lovely canapes with our pre dinner drinks a good choice of starters and mains all beautifully presented great unobtrusive service was much appreciated as we were out for a quiet intimate meal. the dessert (we had the quartet) was delicious and again beautifully presented. I would recommend this place for a special meal rather than a family outing. We would come again when we can afford it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still No1 in Chichester”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Dined here again, whats to be said? This restaurant is superb and without doubt No 1 in the Chichester area. Cass and Viv welcome you as friends and treat you as such throughout. Viv's cheffing is as good as Raymond Blanc on his best day. The food is prepared with love and attention to detail and is without doubt as good as it ever can be. Service is friendly and efficient without being invasive. The wine list is extensive and offers a fine quality and choice . Qualty wine in restaurants is not cheap so dont expect it it to be. Cass chooses good wines and you will pay restaurant prices so live with it and enjoy. Will I return and spend my money here? Yes, without any doubt.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HamishOsborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassons Restaurant also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Cassons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing