We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as always!!”
Review of Cassons Restaurant

Cassons Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 239 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $62
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The finest food set in charming relaxed surroundings, cooked by award winning Chef Viv. Out of City with plenty of parking.The owners strive to give each guest an unforgettable experience.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited cassons after not visiting for quite a while as we have moved further a field. It was without fault as usual. Very accommodating and excellent service as always! We will definately won't leave it as long next time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    52
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
annabel266217
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Lovely restaurant...shame the food is such a let down. I can see what they are trying to do but they just can't quite pull it off. The food is just ok and I'd expected more for the money. Another massive negative is the fact that some of the tables are REALLY close together making it almost uncomfortable and really awkward when you can hear every word that the couple next to you is saying! We will not be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annabel266217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

You will receive a warm welcome in a very pleasant bar, for pre din drinkies.The atmosphere in the dinning room is lovely, and the most attentive head waiter is amusing and and helpful. We have been dinning here for years and have never had a dissapointing meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Jewel in West Sussex”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was invited here by friends recently who had been raving about Cassons for ages.

Must say that I was delighted by the reception, the canapes,the atmosphere and of course the food. The Menu has a reallygood selection and I found it hard to choose. Eventually chose the Selsey Crab and the South Downs Lamb. Both cooked to perfection and delicious.

The only thing I would say is that they should sign the building better as I have been driving past it for years and not realised what it was. Now I know, I will certainly be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not very interesting”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The food here is like a cross between trying too hard with presentation and forgetting the flavour. Dishes look great but the taste doesnt follow through especially where the sauces are concerned. Dishes are piles of this that and the other with a loss of the main flavour to additions such as Parmesan Crisps and other fancies. Needs more experience. Service prompt but not very warm except to those who are obviously regulars.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenchurch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassons Restaurant also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Sidlesham, Chichester
 

Been to Cassons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing