We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Glorious" 4 days”
Review of Old Chapel Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Chapel Forge
Ranked #17 of 69 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this B&B so that we could go to the races, Glorious Goodwood,1st -4th August, 2013, it's a little way off the the race track but well worth having to get to there in a taxi, which Sandra always rang for us, she uses a lovely local firm who are gentlemen and tourist guides if, like us, it is your first time in their lovely city. What a splendid place to stay. The people there are so helpful, (Sandra even took us to the pub one night for our evening meal) The place is clean, homely, eating in the large kitchen at breakfast with other guests, chatting away whilst your breakfast is being made with local produce. Altternatively, you can have breakfast in your room. We had the old Chapel rooom and it's high ceiling and large windows give it a very airy feel. Tea/coffee/biscuits and water in the room and nice toiletries in the bathroom, some nice touches such as little nail files make this a wonderful place to stay. We would definately recommend this B&B to our friends. Shirley and Brian from Rochdale 8/8/13

Room Tip: The Chapel at the front is like your own little house, set yards away from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Spent 2 enjoyable nights at this B&B with a great host. Sandra even assisted us with our laundry which was over and above what was expected. Wonderful interaction over breakfast with other guests at the communal dining table. Sandra was a wealth of local information which helped considerably as the weather wasn't the best during our stay. Highly recommend this B&B for those looking for the personal touches.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights last week as we visited Brighton, Chichester, Southsea, etc.

We had two nights in the chapel, and two nights in the house, and they were all as wonderful as each other.

We found the place with very, very little trouble, without using a sat nav, and although the car park was a little scary for me [the car park for the luxury rooms is separate to the other one, and there is only room for two cars. Had to reverse out on to the main road once or twice, but that was my choice!], we had no problems getting in.

We were in the front room of the chapel, which is lovely and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and the setting was fantastic.
The third and fourth nights, we were in the main house, which was just as nice. I didn't see that the difference in cost was necessary, because the rooms are just as nice as each other, but there was something special in the chapel.

The hosts were lovely - Charlie and Sandra were very helpful, and were forthcoming with plenty of advice to avoid traffic, and recommended places to eat. It's a shame that they didn't do evening meals there, because if the breakfasts are anything to go by, they'd be the best eatery for miles!!! The cooked breakfasts were outstanding, at first I thought the portions were a bit small, but then after I had eaten one, I realised that they are of a perfect size - they set you up for the day in the best way possible.

All in all, we experienced no problems at all - I would stay here again in a minute, and I am sure that we will be next year again.

It must also be said that we dined at the Royal Oak, which is a mile up the road, and honestly, they serve the best burger that I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We often go to bognor as we have an elderly friend who lives there,She is not too well at the moment and it was wonderful to be able to look after her during the day and to relax in this delightful converted chapel in the evening.
Even though it was very cold outside we were extremely cosy and warm.
The views and gardens were amazing and we were spoilt with the lovely breakfast.
The owners made us feel very welcome and couldn't have been more friendly.
We did get a bit lost mainly because of our sat nav but it was worth getting lost for
We hope to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The welcome was warm, the room was very comfortable and the bed had a proper sprung mattress - most unusual in our experience!

The inclusion of a small fridge was useful, both for wine and milk. Little touches like a bottle of squash and practically any toiletries a person could want we're much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We escape every year to Old Chapel Forge for a much needed break.
Clean lovely bedding, everything you could want in the bathroom, breakfast selection just fantastic with locally sourced ingredients.
Tea, hot chocolate, coffee, fresh water and cookies, very welcome after a long drive. The little fridge just right if you want to pop a bottle of wine in it.
Location brilliant, Sandra can tell you of places to visit and recommends great restaurants to eat in.
Home from home, have recommended and would highly recommend this beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted a cosy, tasteful bolt-hole for a night away from two young children and this suited us perfectly. Wonderfully warm, solid and so pretty. It had all the conveniences we could have asked for but the peace and privacy of a country retreat. Breakfast in the morning round the farmhouse table was a little awkward but everyone was perfectly pleasant and the food good. Just one night here was exactly the break we were looking for. Lovely accommodating hosts, good food and comfortable, characterful accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romananddylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chichester hotels
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
2.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
680 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
952 reviews
2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
4 mi away
The Boathouse Bosham
The Boathouse Bosham
#1 of 6 in Bosham
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Chapel Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Chapel Forge

Address: Lagness Road, Chichester PO20 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range: $89 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic, secluded guest accommodation in self-contained suites of rooms set in a peaceful location, overlooking the rolling Sussex Downs but just 3 minute drive from both Chichester/Bognor Regis, and the beaches. Our suites can be booked by just one couple, who will enjoy our beautiful bedrooms or by a small family/working group of up to six people. The suites not only provide spacious accommodation but also have their own gardens & patio. All rooms have internet access. We are member of The Green Tourism Business Scheme and pride ourselves on our heatry breakfast freshly prepared using locally sourced produce. Walker and cyclist friendly. Bike hire is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Chapel Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing