We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile visit”

Chichester Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was lucky with my timing of my visit to the cathedral, not only did I have a tour guide to myself but also 3 trainees, all making my visit memorable.
Interestingly I needed more time than I expected for the visit, as I also included the gardens, cloisters etc, none should be missed
There was a free and very enjoyable lunchtime concert, found through an easily accessible website
My third visit of the day was to evensong, a glorious end to my Chichester visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,037
    416
    46
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Religious or not - it doesn't matter”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have been to Chichester on at least four occasions in twenty years and have included the beautiful and well maintained Cathedral on each occasion. To experience peace and tranquility one can sit inside and take in the splendour or outside and just watch as other people busy through their day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Chagall window”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Pop into Chichester Cathedral to see some amazing examples of twentieth century art. The most beautiful of all has to be the fabulous stained glass window by Marc Chagall. It jewel colours and fluid shapes are truly stunning!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“See the Chagall Window”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a beautiful cathedral, not austere like many. The tapestries are worth spending time looking at. Best of all is the richly coloured Chagall window. You can enjoy the calming atmosphere of this building even when it's full of visitors and if you're not religious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RedQuince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We took time during a recent visit to Chichester to visit the gardens and interior of the cathedral. Impressive to say the least, beautifully maintained, lovely stain glass windows, very vibrant on a sunny afternoon. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichester Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Chichester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing