We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the poor traffic management”
Review of Goodwood House

Goodwood House
Ranked #16 of 64 things to do in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the spectacular Sussex countryside, surrounded by mature parklands, and home to the Dukes of Richmond for centuries, Goodwood House combines the glamour of a great English country house with the warmth of a family home. With an outstanding collection of art on display, the House is open to visitors from March to October.
cheadle cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“shame about the poor traffic management”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was the 1st time we have been to the FOS and although we had tickets for all 4 days, we could not face the traffic problems again and again. We only went on the preview day ( not too bad getting there), didn't go Friday, but had Grandstand seats for the Saturday, so decided to go. We left Bosham ( 10 miles away) at 7.30am and it took until 10.00 to get there. People in adjacent cars were also complaining about poor traffic management ( the numerous roundabouts seemed to be the main problem) Once we got to the local road leading to the Rolls Royce site, the traffic moved constantly & really smoothly. Something should be done about the other problems as it does put people off. We gave the Sunday a miss. We had no problems leaving the site as on both occasions we left around 4pm. The site itself was great, well laid out, helpful stewards and plenty of deck chairs and shade. Toilet facilities were much better than we had expected. Food WAS expensive, fortunately we had brought our own! We live near Tatton Park where they hold the RHS flower show each year and although the traffic IS slower than normal, it is adequately managed by marshals from quite some distance away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    46
    12
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A really marvellous building still occupied by the family who built it. The house being the focal point for the estate is beautiful and really well presented. The whole area benefits from its management.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Festival of Speed 2013”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

An amazing festival to attend for anyone who loves Cars, motorbikes, planes and speed.
We visited with a 6 year old on one of the hottest days of the year.
The site is massive and there is far more to see than can be covered in one day, weekend tickets next time !
The road controls and signage, car parking, catering, and toilets were all very good, making for a stress free day. The map could have done with some fingerboard signs around to help navigate, but the Marshalls and staff are all very helpful and know their way around.
The cars are just amazing, old, new, unseen, rally, F1, touring cars, historic vehicles and just beautiful motors. The Rally stage in the woods is definitely worth a visit too, especially if it's hot as it's under the trees and cooler.
There are famous drivers and enthusiasts everywhere if you're into that sort of thing, and they're very accessible and happy to sign autographs.
It's a lot of walking, take ear defenders for kids, try and pick a spot to watch the hill climb and stay there for a while as it's so easy to miss things that are going on as there's so much happening.
Take a picnic if you don't mind carrying it! or loads of great catering options, and the prices are what you'd expect from a festival ( slightly higher than outside).
If you want to do any of the "Experiences" be sure to go and get them booked first as they fill up very fast - it opens at 7am and you need to be there then!
All in all a fantastic, very British event.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Onceawaitress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting guided tour”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We are members of the Historic Houses Association which cannot recommend this enough. We there had free entry. We were very lucky to have a guide all to ourselves and she was very informative and knowledgable as well as being a charming person. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank austefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Goodwood Festival of Speed”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is an awesome event if you are a petrol-head of just a motoring enthusiast. Tons of exhibits from new cars to planes to historic and vintage autos. Plan for at least 2 days to see it all and wear comfy shoes. Be sure to bring earplugs for the hill climb and be sure to spring for grandstand admission. Leave early, it will take between 1.5 and 3 hours from the first stop in traffic to parking your car, and then it is quite a haul into the event.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodwood House also viewed

 
Bosham, Chichester
 

Been to Goodwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing