We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and great atmosphere”

Cote Brasserie - Chichester
Ranked #8 of 238 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our inspiration for the food and design of Cote is a modern interpretation of the many famous bistros of Paris. Inspired by new trends, we are dedicated to serving authentic classic brasserie dishes with a modern twist, using high quality produce at great prices. On the menu, guests will always find brasserie favourites on our a la carte menu such as steak frites, moules marinieres, corn-fed chicken from rural Brittany and tuna Nicoise, for dessert, Cote's creme caramel and creme brulee are much-loved house specialities. Seasonality and Cote's commitment to sourcing high-quality ingredients results in a monthly changing specials menu, ensuring there is always something new to delight regular guests and gastronomes alike, as well as the excellent value set menu. Open early every day for breakfast, through to lunch and dinner; Cote's atmosphere is informal and friendly.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a weekend lunch here and it was a lovely experience. There is a good variety of meals oavailable and the quality of the food is wonderful. The staff were attentive and the service prompt without being intrusive.

There were a wide range of people eating from couples of all ages to families with young children. Even being busy the noise wasn't too loud and the atmosphere still very nice.

The only reason I haven't given a five star rating is due to the wine prices. Some of wines (Admittedly further down the list, but not too far from the top) are almost £7 a glass, if you're planning on having more than a couple of glasses it would work out better to buy a bottle.

All in all we had a wonderful meal and will definitely be back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    285
    83
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A taste of France !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lunched here on Saturday 28th September, really delightful.Very busy but the ambience was such that we enjoyed a leisurely lunch & were not hurried,, chose from the lunchtime specials menu -choice of 2 mains- served promptly & politely; excellent food, simple but well prepared , fresh ingredients. If this is the standard of all this groups outlets suggest anyone about to dine where they have a Brasserie to give them a try. Altogether very good & reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely food but very noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I had a lovely meal.....make sure you book in advance. The only thing is the design of this restaurant means that noise bounces around and it is very loud....not exactly romantic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My daughter's boyfriend said that on his first visit to this restaurant, he had the best steak he'd ever had. I took his word for it... and had to agree. All our party had a steak and they were all excellent. There was silence while we all ate. Absolutely brilliant!

The desserts were also of an excellent quality, and the bill at the end was worth every penny.

Seriously recommend it to anyone, and I'm sure we'll find another reason to go again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edm019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed viewpoint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a Saturday night having booked in advance. The food was excellent and good value and the staff very pleasant and friendly BUT we waited ages between our starters and main course. We mentioned this and it was well handled and it was agreed to supply our bottle of wine free of charge. More than fair. The problem seemed to be not enough staff as they all appeared to be working very hard. We felt sorry for them as the kitchen is upstairs. What would stop us returning is the noise level. The decor was such that there was nothing to absorb the sound and it was hard to hold a conversation without raising one's voice and straining to hear.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pulboroughperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Brasserie - Chichester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Cote Brasserie - Chichester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing