We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury cottage with all the finishing touches!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of The Boat House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boat House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Boat House
Bathroom
The living area
Bathroom
The bedroom
Interior
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury feel
Liked least: No visitors book to poke a nose at ;)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Find the property in the dark
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. They were most constructive. We are now reviewing the directions which we send out and also the lack of external lighting at the Boat House especially now winter is approaching.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: unwiding with a bottle of wine on the balcony every night wishing we didnt have to come home.
Liked least: No way of making ice for the all important G and T!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
paul05731...
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“flatters to deceive”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here just before Christmas 2012 and had a few problems but on the whole had nice break.
Unfortunately this time I cannot say the same. The people who own the property have changed agents and my wife's first engagement with the new agent was when she got a call on her mobile at 17.25 Friday evening whilst on the motorway, from a lady asking where she was as she wanted to go home and all her other tenants had arrived? My wife explained she was stuck in traffic and as informed in an email she had to be at the office before 19.00. She actually got there at 19.07 and was greeted with a £15 late fee charge...not off to a good start.

The agent also started telling my wife that she had been having problems with the property and previous tenants nearly had to call the fire brigade in the night due to a burning smell. This really worried my wife as last time we stayed we had power cuts all the time.

We arrived and the property was lovely but not as clean. My wife had to put the cutlery and some bowls through the dishwasher and last time the fridge had a few bits, milk butter bacon and bread but this time nothing. I stay in hotels every week and even the cheapest have coffee ,tea and milk so you can wake up to a cuppa, and as the rental here is not cheap this little extra would not go a miss.

Also we had to use the bath for three days as even though the shower looks great we could not control temperature and was scalding.....

On the whole we had a nice time but would not go back. Once home my wife received an email saying our deposit had been deducted as they had to launder 3 extra towels which we supposedly used,,, we didn't even know the property had extra towels so that was untrue, also the agent said that the bed linen had a mark and the tea towel had stains on too, and to top it off the agent said we dropped the keys off late. On arrival my wife asked what time we had to vacate the property and was told by the agent....."anytime Monday, as its a bank holiday my cleaners are not going in till Tuesday!!!!!,

My wife sent an email to the lady who deals with bookings and explained about the problems but this fell on deaf ears so no we won't recommend or revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: lovely balcony to sit and have a morning coffee
Liked least: too many posh gadgets that look goid but do not work properly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
iver bucks
Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the property
Liked least: unable to say as loved every little thing..
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property design
Liked least: Overcomplicated and ineffective heating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry for the heating problems you expereienced during your stay. A new boiler has been fitted under warranty. The outside light switch is by the exit doors. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$201
/ Night
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing