We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best gardens you can visit in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Dean Gardens

West Dean Gardens
Ranked #8 of 64 things to do in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Dean Gardens is one of the greatest restored Gardens open to the public in England. Wander through the 300 foot long Edwardian pergola, visit the restored Victorian glasshouses, Walled Kitchen Gardens, Sunken Garden and orchards. Finish with a walk through the arboretum, Spring Garden and the peaceful parkland. Enjoy and inspirational day out visiting West Dean Gardens. A rare oasis of beauty and tranquillity in the heart of the South Downs.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the best gardens you can visit in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm a RHS member and keen photographer and never tire of West Dean.

My only issue is that the canteen food has become noticeably poorer in recent weeks. On my last visit I only had a small snack and they somehow managed to serve terrible tea and an almond slice that was badly under cooked (it was fine in July so an unwelcome change).

In terms of events I miss the 'Apple Affair', which I believe was dropped after disappointing ticket sales due to a clash with poor weather last year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alarmclock_since2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestDean, Public Relations Manager at West Dean Gardens, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you still enjoy the Gardens so much.
I am sorry that you feel the restaurant food has deteriorated and thank you for your feedback, which we will take on board and try to improve for your next visit.
The Apple Affair, this year became Grow! Cook! Eat! to celebrate the whole of the British harvest - including apples and pears - over 150 varieties of which are grown in West Dean's gardens.
I'm afraid you've missed this year's event which was held on 5/6 October, but put a note in your diary now for the 4/5 October 2014, when this popular event will be held again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    107
    22
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inspirational gardens !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A highly coiffed garden that is pleasing to the eye ! Modern ways of clipping box has become the signature method of keeping the shrub under control and looks effective. The walled garden should be a national treasure where fruit and vegetables are grown to perfection. Fruit can be seen trained on walls in many different ways to achieve good use of space and plenty of fruit. Visiting the many greenhouses are inspirational for the growing of crops of flowers foliage and fruiting plants. I wish that the inspirational couple who run West Dean Gardens were presenting Gardens World on BBC2 !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank astrantiamajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited on a beautiful late summer day and everything looked at its best.

Not only are the gardens and greenhouses excellent but you can walk for miles over the downs through woods and fields full of sheep.

Well worth considering.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful, sun-soaked day in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was a lovely, September day and we had a wonderful walk through the vegetable gardens, glass houses, orchards etc, then did the walk through the fields full of sheep to get beautiful views across the downs. I think the walk was slightly longer than the 2 miles it had said it was! Cream tea in the café afterwards - utter bliss!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sueskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An enthusiasts garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

an excellent garden, one of the most rewarding to visit for plants, kitchen garden and landscape in the area. an excellent cafe with local and homegrown produce and reasonably priced. Always interesting to visit through the seasons. I visit frequently.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Dean Gardens also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Bosham, Chichester
 

Been to West Dean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing