We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service and great food - Very accommodating”
Review of The Fox Goes Free

The Fox Goes Free
Ranked #5 of 239 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and great food - Very accommodating”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a few drinks here with some friends before going to the races @ Goodwood before heading back to eat later in the day.
The management and their staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble.
Food was great, and so was the beer.
Definitely recommend this place and will be going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSussexTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi,

Delighted you had a great day with us and thank you for commenting on the service and food. See you soon,

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    199
    61
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited for Lunch and found it to be very good. Lovely location and would have sat in the garden if the weather had been warmer. Great views of the downs and surrounding countryside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 30Annette30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon and with a bit of warmer weather too!

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food poor”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We met some friends from America who were staying there overnight for what we hoped would be a delicious meal to impress them in what are lovely surroundings, unfortunately it was a disaster. The bar and restaurant service was slow as it was obvious there were not enought staff. The starters took 30 minutes to arrive, and then we sat and waited for the mains for one hour, by which time it was too late for dessert. The vegetarian main was 'off' so I ended up with pasta which was no better than I would cook at home. The duck confit was breast meat not the leg it should have been. The pie of the day was burnt and the rack of lamb was overcooked. When we complained the young man was full of apologies and said they were very busy and the kitchen was overwhelmed and he refunded the cost of the mains. OK and thanks but we will not be going there again.

    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Fox Goes Free. I think it is fair to say no business in the world gets 100% customer satisfaction all the time and clearly this was the situation on the evening of your visit. We have always maintained that a truly successful reflection at the Fox is how a complaint is dealt with and this from your own words was what we did. My senior staff member who dealt with your table clearly took the importance of your points and dealt with it above and beyond what was expected. We do try to look after all of our customers and above all listen to their needs and constructive feedback and hoped that from pointing out that this was our acceptance that your meal and evening did not go as is normally our excellent standard. I would like the opportunity of discussing the matter with you and trying to regain your confidence in enjoying the Fox. Please feel free to forward me your contact details and I will be more than happy to discuss the matter.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very impressed with the food, location, service and price. Stunning views and location. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi,

Very pleased you overall experiance was to your liking and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“pricey beer”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with what has been said by others - lovely pub, friendly, helpful staff, good service, good food, lovely location, beautiful view - but - why do they charge £3.75 for a pint of Otter ale when everywhere else i have been sells it at £3.30? Sort of spoilt it for me but perhaps i'm being picky. Just thought i'd add this bit of information to the mix.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. I will have to take into consideration your feedback on the Otter Ale and see what we can do about that. We offer our excellent House ale at £2.95 (Arundel Breweries) which is still very good value compared to other pubs. The Ballards best is also excellent value at £3.50, as is our weekly changing Guest ale. Next time you are in please ask me for a taste of these and I will be more than happy to oblige.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Goes Free also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Fox Goes Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing