We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury holiday homes in a beautiful corner of...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pitlands Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 - Kingsize double bed (Granary)
Bedroom 1 ensuite - Bath with shower.
Bedroom 2 - Kingsize bed. (Granary)
Bedroom 2 - Kingsize bed. (Granary)
Bedroom 2 ensuite - Bath and shower (Granary)
Bedroom 2 ensuite - Bath and shower (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 - Twins or Superking. (Granary)
Bedroom 3 ensuite - Shower (Granary)
Bedroom 4 - Kingsize bed. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 - Kingsize bed. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 4 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 - Twins or Superking, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 ensuite - Wetroom with shower, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 5 ensuite - Wetroom with shower, Accessible M1 rated. (Cartshed)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 - Kingsize double. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 6 ensuite - Bath with shower head. (Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 - Twin beds.
(Stables)
Bedroom 7 ensuite - Shower (Stables)
Bedroom 7 ensuite - Shower (Stables)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy E
Blonay, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Luxury holiday homes in a beautiful corner of England”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just come back from a week's stay at Pitlands Barns in Up Marden, West Sussex. We stayed in the Cart Shed and found it to be spacious and beautifully finished, with luxurious bathrooms and very tasteful soft furnishings. We loved the exposed walls made of Sussex Downs flint and the wonderful garden - with easy access to the woods, our children had a great time and a taste of freedom. A busy farm in the middle of the summer harvest, our boys thought they were in heaven watching the tractors and combine harvester in action. They enjoyed feeding the chickens in the morning and collecting eggs. The Huxham family were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. I particularly appreciated the circular walks booklet and the information guide was the best I have ever come across. We had everything we needed in the cottage and more. A great week !

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grainne d
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely stunning!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Not only was the place absolutely gorgeous the family there were so welcoming kind and generous to us! We had one of the best family holidays ever there just very chilled and relaxed in beautiful surroundings!
The barns well so well kept, HUGE, and designed great to be bright and feel really part of the countryside.
couldnt have asked for anywhere more beautiful.
WE shall be returning!

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
888jof
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning in every sense”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were fortunate to be asked to join our friends who have rented The Granary for a week every year for the last three years. We were blown away by the whole experience. The location is amazing, surrounded by fields of corn and ancient woodlands. An easy 5 minute walk leads to a lovely country pub and the coast at Bosham is only a 10 minute drive away. There's lots if other walks and The South Downs Way is only a couple of miles away.The Granary itself is beautifully presented with so much space and great facilities. The owners are on site and so friendly and helpful, it was a superb place to relax and unwind.

Date of stay: July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angieskin...
Port Orange, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We came for the Goodwood Festival of Speed and found this GEM! The rooms are new and extremely clean - very large and the bathrooms are all modern updated and wonderful. The best part of our stay was the house staff - so much fun and always willing to help. We already re-booked for next year. I NEVER want to stay anywhere else. We left feeling like family. we had 8 couples in our group and one teenager - no one felt cramped and we all gathered in the Granary nightly for wine and cheese. Morning breakfast was also a nice treat. I loved the large windows that we opened at night for great sleeping! Comfy beds too!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean!
Liked least: no complaints
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy E
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for any family celebration or holiday!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from the barns after an absolutely perfect family week-end celebrating ruby and diamond wedding anniverasries; 10 adults and 4 children, three under 4. The accommodation is first class, with space for everyone to enjoy each other's company, and not feel on top of each other, and the hosts were so helpful both before and on arrival. It was extremely child friendly both indoors and outdoors and we had a wonderful time. There is a pub within walking distance, woods for trhe children to explore and make swings and camps in, and the most tranquil and relaxing surroundings. If you are a walker looking for some stunning scenery and views, or a family looking for somewhere to be together, this is the place for you!!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumpbackC...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved this place - welcomed on arrival with a bottle of wine and a tin of homemade flapjacks. The cottage felt very modern yet tastefully converted in keeping with its history and heritage. A really great location, surrounded by beautiful countryside and within walking distance of a couple of friendly country pubs. This was the first holiday where we were able to take our 6 month old puppy and he loved every minute of it.

The hosts were wonderfully friendly and welcoming and showed us around their farm where some of the original Roman flooring has been carefully preserved. We'll definitely be coming back.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae B
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place for a large group”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

In September 2010 a group of 20 trekked on and around the Great Wall of China to raise money for Parkinson's UK. Every year some of us meet up for a reunion. This year we chose Pitlands Barns and it was the best accommodation yet and will be hard to beat. 14 of us took over all the barns, cooking and eating in the granary. There was plenty of room for all and an extra 2 who joined us for the day. The surrounding countryside is brilliant for walking and The Hare & Hounds pub provided us with a fantastic lunch. The property was spotlessly clean and and we had a warm welcome from Kelly, Jenny made us a lovely sponge cake and Philip showed us the Roman remains on the site. I would recommend these barns to anyone looking for luxury in a peaceful setting.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large living area in the Granary
Liked least: The can opener
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing