We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but be patient”
Review of The Barleycorn

The Barleycorn
Ranked #115 of 239 Restaurants in Chichester
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food but be patient”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food, particularly the fish dishes, is very good but on our last visit the service was very slow even though they were not busy. There was only two other tables occupied. Good range of beers, cider and wine. Not the cheapest of places for pub food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    12
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Return visit and food was still good”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We returned for another meal as we enjoyed our previous visit. The food again was excellent and beautifully presented. My husband had the sea bass which he could find no fault with, and it came with an improved amount of vegetables on the plate - they seem to have taken on board the remarks we made on our previous visit about the lack of vegetables on my husbands main course; as I had opted for just a starter I ordered a side salad to accompany it. The food was quite a long time coming as it is all cooked fresh, but be prepared for perhaps a very long wait if it was particularly busy? As a previous reviewer commented, we also heard a lot of shouting coming from the kitchen - not very professional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank memberChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lacking something !”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My Wife had been meaning to try this place for some time as we are fresh fish lovers but oh dear !. Something is defiantly missing here & I'm afraid to say it may be atmosphere. Admittedly it was a Wednesday evening & quiet but the fresh fish menu alone is far too big. I cannot see how they could have everything on the menu & the fact they only had one chef on tells me they are not expecting a crowd of people to arrive. The silence was only broken by the sound of a radio playing everywhere & what I believe to be the Landlady & chef arguing with each other. The Crab Bisque starter was good although the roll was in a world of its own with its friend the butter pat but alas the Sea Bass fillet was over cooked and the accompanying vegetables looked like the creation of the guy in Close Encounters. All in all a disappointing visit for food, but if you want Fawlty Towers type entertainment then this is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Rude Landlord”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had Sunday lunch here today. The vegetables were so tough we couldn't eat them! Complained to the Landlord & he said 'That's how we like them & u r the first to complain'. Did not like his attitude so we won't go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic value carvery”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We usually come on Sundays for the lovely carvery. As well as the usual roasts, there's often a tasty casserole or pie. The seating area is comfortable, with lots of room. Service fr drinks etc is good and unhurried. Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annenbergpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barleycorn also viewed

 

Been to The Barleycorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing