We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a quiet location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Keepers

Keepers
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Keepers
Private patio Private patio with pool area behind
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Keepers
Private patio
Private patio with pool area behind
Beautiful kitchen
Sumptious leather sofas infront of the woodburner
Bedroom 1 - downstairs
Bathroom for downstairs bedroom
Bedroom 2 - upstairs
Sumptious Super King size bed
Bathroom for room 2
Beautiful Ren products
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Destinati...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a quiet location.”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent a very relaxing week here. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are beautiful. Carole (the owner) made us very welcome. We will definitely recommend this cottage to family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
675ChrisN
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My Dad stayed at Keepers to cover a gap between house moves. Carole was absolutely fantastic - so lovely and also flexible with us. The property itself is immaculate and a home away from home in a beautiful countryside village - very peaceful with great views. I would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you Chris for your lovely review. We are so pleased it was a good stop-gap and your father was really comfortable. We hope he is settling in well in his new abode. All good wishes from us all. Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walkingst...
Eversham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A little bit of heaven on earth”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a wonderful find Keepers cottage West Marden farm was. I always go away with a bit of in trepidation, we have stayed at so many unclean badly equipped places. What treat to arrive and find a place that had lots of TLC. As soon as we walked in it felt like home. Carole & Martin were very kind and attentive hosts. Our family came down for the weekend as It was my 65th birthday they stayed in Barley cottage, it had the same very high standard. They said the pool was like stepping into a hot bath. We would return here in a heartbeat

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Thank you both so much for your stay here and this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your fortnight here and the special birthday weekend with your family. It was great to see them enjoying the pool too! We very much hope to be able to welcome you back here one day. All good wishes,
Carole, Gaynor and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephabbe...
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful, tranquil cottage”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After a very hectic 8 days of touring London this was the perfect spot to slow down a bit before going onto Paris. Our hosts Carole and Martin were beyond gracious and helpful, making sure our accommodations were immaculate and well stocked, including a delicious homemade sponge cake and bottle of wine.

The Keepers cottage is part of "West Marden Farm" and a bit off the beaten track but don't worry, after our first few sojourns out it was like coming home. We liked having this as a hub and were able to visit Beachy Head, Brighton, Portsmouth, Petworth Manor, Arundel Castle and were fortunate to be there for Chichester's farmers market.

Without question, if we were back in the area we would book again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818debora...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury holiday cottage with very spacious bedrooms and high spec bathrooms”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Keepers is a well thought out holiday cottage offering a high level of comfort and style.
It was warm, cosy, very comfortable and incredibly well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, excellent condition of property, under floor heating, great shower.
Liked least: Low voltage lighting using low energy bulbs give off a cold light but there is enough lamps to avoid switching on.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcCole...
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in the country”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Keepers was the perfect home base for our visit to Sussex. Located within 20 minutes of Portsmouth and a ferry ride to the Isle of Wight. Country homes and gardens to tour are nearby. There are small villages in every direction where you can shop, dine or buy groceries. And within a few yards is a local restaurant where you can go for food and/or drinks.

The cottage is luxurious and has everything you need and more. The bedrooms and baths are huge and afforded both couples loads of privacy. We loved the wonderful showers and the heated floors. What a treat!

Carole and Martin were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a wonderful visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The showers and heated floors
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne P
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We thought we had died and gone to heaven!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Keeper's Cottage was idyllic. The locality and cottage itself allowed us to really relax undisturbed. Although there is no mobile phone signal, the owners have provided a landline. Nothing is too much trouble for Carole, Martin and Gaynor Edney. There are some superb walks in the local area and the South Downs was a new area for us. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious bedrooms and bathroom
Liked least: We would have liked a CD player
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing