We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A pleasure!”

Review of Orchard Barn

Front of Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Barn
Back Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front of Barn
Back Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Camper725...
1 review
“A pleasure!”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a delightful family week here during the summer holidays.

The house is truly a pleasure to stay in; it's characterful and yet the modern interior makes it very easy to live in. There are lots of mod-cons.

The barn is in a rural location - so it's very pleasant in the garden with apple trees and a large field directly behind. The rural location does mean it takes about 10 minutes to drive to the local pub along single track lanes (The Barley Mow is the best and you are rewarded once you get there - its also a lovely place!). And of course most activities are then a drive further on from there, but so long as you don't mind a bit of a drive to activities then the location is great. The landscape is beautiful: we saw grouse, hare's and deer in the hedgerows as we drove back and forth.

In terms of family activities, it is pretty easy to the coast at East/West Wittering, Littlehampton, Chichester and also to see the castle at Arundell etc. Also activities like horseriding were easily organized at nearby stables and there's also the national trust site at Uppark among many other options.

In short, hard to beat this place as a rental for a family week of relaxation and unhurried exploration of this part of West Sussex.

Thank-you Sally!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
I am so pleased you enjoyed your week at Orchard Barn. Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellySmit...
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend as a family of 7, attending a wedding nearby one of the days.
There are no photos that can do this barn justice! Pulling up into the drive we were amazed by the property, fresh flowers on one of the dining tables was such a nice touch. The whole place was very clean and had everything you could need - iron, washer, drier, massive range of kitchen utensils etc.
Elderly grandparents came with us and the wet room was really useful, making the whole place accessible for them.

We are already planning a date to come back for longer and explore the beautiful surrounding area.

Wonderful host, Sally was really friendly and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick G
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent property in secluded location.”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A property of very generous size with 4 en-suite bedrooms. The wine and the homemade cake left out for us were most welcome. Sally visited to provide various information and there is also a folder that contains a lot of the stuff that you need to know about the area. The property was very clean and you really won't know what to do with all the space.
The location is secluded and the nearest pubs are 2 to 3 miles by road. We found The Victoria at West Marden to be very welcoming. Plenty of off road parking space at the property.
Lovely walks in the locality with some beautiful scenery. Not too far to Chichester and Petersfield by road but be aware that the property is located on a single track road and it is around a couple of miles to the main roads. We had groceries delivered by Asda without any difficulty. We spent one day at Fontwell Park races and that is about a 30 min drive.
Excellent kitchen facilities and a private garden area. Thoroughly enjoyed the time at Orchard Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space available and cleanliness. Very peaceful location.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cangan
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Superb Accomodation”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful barn conversion, tastefully furnished with all the amenities we required.
Our extended family group ages 3-75 we were welcomed by the owner and wine, milk and cake were most appreciated
The four bedrooms had very comfortable beds and en suites,one of which on the ground floor with disabled facilities.
Kitchen needs were well catered for.
The cooker was a delight.
It was wonderfully quiet

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveM_an...
Brighton and Hove
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a week with our extended family (aged 11 to 90) and family dog. The accommodation was excellent and the layout suited our situation perfectly (all 4 bedrooms being on-suite .... one of the downstairs excellent for my elderly parents). The location was perfect for taking our dog out for a long walk each morning through the fields although it you did want to use the local amenities (village shop, pub etc) you would realistically need to use the car (which was no problem to us) or be extremely keen hikers.
Sally made us feel very welcome and no doubt would have been there to help with anything had we needed her.
We did have a slight issue when we used up our internet allowance very quickly (3 children aged 11 to 16 ... ipads) but this was quickly resolved once we were made aware and a compromise reached. Whilst this was the one and only downside of what was perfect accommodation, it was not enough to stop us giving a 5 star rating and recommending to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, layout, cleanliness ... in general the whole property.
Liked least: Wifi was available but with limited interent usage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Hopefully we will be connected to fibre optic broadband as promised last October before too long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb property”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

An excellent property in a very quiet location, superbly equipped, with everything we could have wanted. The homemade cake, bottle of wine and fresh flowers on the table were an added bonus. The barn was spotless on arrival, beautifully warm when it needed to be and perfect for a group of friends with its four en suite double bedrooms.

We received a very warm welcome from Sally, and really could not fault anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The property was outstanding and ideal for a group of friends, with its four en suite bedrooms.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saraheli5...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to stay - 5* accommodation with lovely personal touches. Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing