We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch”
Review of Amelie and Friends - CLOSED

Amelie and Friends
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Amelie and Friends is an independent restaurant situated in a handsome Georgian building right in the centre of Chichester (where Arthur Purchase & Son and The Dining Room used to be). We are close to the Festival Theatre and the St Cyriacs and Northgate car parks.The stylish interior combines Georgian high ceilings and period features with modern building materials and designer furniture. Come and bask in our large secluded courtyard garden planted with olive trees and mediterranean herbs. All our food is prepared in our own kitchen from fresh ingredients, and the menu features a mix of classics done very well plus some quirky and more adventurous dishes. Our delicious handmade wine is sourced from small organic producers from around the world. Our friendly and knowledgeable front of house team will look after you extremely well.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited for lunch as a Birthday treat for my husband, and found the food to be of a very high standard. For starters I had the scallops, although I must say my husband's fish cake won the points here. A great start. For mains my onglet steak was perfect, and the sea bream also was cooked perfectly. For dessert we had a chocolate / ice cream, and my husbands affogato ( hot espresso poured over home made ice cream was a delight. Well done Amelie we shall return!!!
( The staff were also excellent )

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,217
    371
    94
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went with mixed feelings having read some other reviews however we were very happy with our whole experience. The staff were welcoming and said a table had been reserved but we could move elsewhere if we wished. Food was excellent, both starters and main courses, smallish portions but more than enough with beautiful blends of flavours and excellent presentation. The desserts were superb. I do not normally eat desserts when we are out leaving that to my husband. However I was persuaded by him to try the passion fruit and something! It was wonderful!!!!.
Lovely coffee to finish our meal. At no point did we feel rushed or put under pressure.
An excellent evening we will be back again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just out for dinner somewhere pleasant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I had a very pleasant evening.Starters for me was a little disappointing as I did not read the description properly.Love scallops but putting them in a sesame batter was not for me and I feel it would be over powering as a main course.The fish cake starter was very good.My husband chose the ribeye steak,very good and I chose the bream.the whole dish complimented the individual flavours very well.The chocolate pudding was a delight! Not sweet but beautifully balanced with vanilla icecream.We will definitely use Amelie and friends again.We feel if you are paying a little more to dine out it has a lot going for it.The owner was very involved in every aspect of service as was Josh their head waiter and most importantly they knew and could describe the menu.Shame I did'nt ask them about my scallop starter! Unfortunatlely you can't always please everyone but they are enthusiastic enough to learn by their mistakes.Well Done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirleymac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good food but service was extremely slow”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to this restaurant on Saturday night just before going to see "Barnum" at the Festival Theatre tent.
We were seated immediately and were asked if we were attending the show at 7.30. We said yes and ordered the 2 course pre-theatre menu. All 4 of our starters were cold dishes (intentionally!) The gazpacho soup was delicious and creamy rather than the chunky type. The mozzarella brushetta was also very good. Then the service dried up! We sat for another hour with no food and the time ticking away towards our performance. I asked where our dinners were and the waitress said it was on its way. It arrived 10 minutes later. We had 3 sea breams and 1 duck. All four meals were very good but although we'd all decided to opt for a dessert, we had actually run out of time. Coffee was also out of the question.
This means that due to slow service, the restaurant had lost out on 4 desserts and 4 coffees.
The food was very good but the service was very slow considering THEY asked us if we were going to the show and were therefore aware of our time scale.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbeare15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Starter very good, main course luxury fish pie I couldn't eat it was full of peas, should have been mixed fish in creamy sauce, mainly salmon, no creamy sauce just a watery liquid. ......so disappointing......would I go back..........unfortunately no, having paid through groupon voucher I still felt this wasn't good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Owner at Amelie and Friends, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy the fish pie and I am grateful to you for bringing it to our attention during your meal. The Head Chef examined the dish and sent his apologies as it did not have the correct proportions of fish and vegetables in the filling. We tried to put things right by offering you an alternative replacement main course at no charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelie and Friends also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing