We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly restaurant and very good food”
Review of Amelie and Friends - CLOSED

Amelie and Friends
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Amelie and Friends is an independent restaurant situated in a handsome Georgian building right in the centre of Chichester (where Arthur Purchase & Son and The Dining Room used to be). We are close to the Festival Theatre and the St Cyriacs and Northgate car parks.The stylish interior combines Georgian high ceilings and period features with modern building materials and designer furniture. Come and bask in our large secluded courtyard garden planted with olive trees and mediterranean herbs. All our food is prepared in our own kitchen from fresh ingredients, and the menu features a mix of classics done very well plus some quirky and more adventurous dishes. Our delicious handmade wine is sourced from small organic producers from around the world. Our friendly and knowledgeable front of house team will look after you extremely well.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly restaurant and very good food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked as a party of four using a Travelzoo voucher for our first visit.
A really lovely restaurant, light bright and airy. The Menu presented an excellent choice of food including a good selection of vegetarian, fish and lighter dishes. The service was wonderfully friendly and we were made to feel very welcome indeed.
The desserts on their own make Amelie's well worth a visit! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margot1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,217
    371
    94
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chichester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exellent even better with tastecard”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Exellent meal and the staff were super i will be coming back for lunch and dinner both were spot on well done , lunch outside was very pleasant in the sunshine just watch out for the seagulls :) keep up the good work weill be back .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lasses at Lunch”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Found this lovely restaurant completely by chance. The staff were very friendly and attentive and persuaded us to try the cakes! The outdoor area is a little oasis of calm with olive trees and herbs. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieK_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
1 review
“A real gem - an oasis in the heart of Chichester”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found this delightful restaurant by a chance internet search. The main dining room is spacious, light and airy and invites you in. The walled garden at the rear is a superb setting for an outdoor lunch or evening meal. There you are, right in the middle of Chichester, but you feel that you are in a rural garden. The menu offered a wide range of dishes at very reasonable prices. The quality of the food and the standard of service were excellent. We will certainly go there again and we wholeheartedly recommend the restaurant. Stuart and Dorothy Nattrass

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sadly wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I went here for lunch with friends and really struggled to find something off the menu (and I'm not THAT fussy!) Opted for a ham hock salad thing and spent the next twenty minutes pushing it round my plate as it was lacking. Decided to give it another try but this time for dinner and we ended up just having a glass of wine as the menu was unappealing. Sorry!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kj2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelie and Friends also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing