We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home 😊”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tania and...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home 😊”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Debbie and Tex made us feel very welcome apon arrival and a lovely welcome hamper and fresh milk in fridge.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there for a week. Warm, clean and everything you need really. Fabulous !

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2015
Thank you for being such lovely guests and for leaving the Lodge so nice. We look forward to having you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adeeba007
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect break, great location!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for 3 days, on arrival finding the cottage was slightly complicating, but we was quickly instructed by Debbie. A warm welcome, lovely gesture of a hamper basket. Spacious and well equipped. Everything you need at hand. Our dog absolutely loved it!!!
Location is perfect everything we needed was within close range.
I would definatley recommend visiting the west wittering beach it was lovely.
Would recommended to others highly and will be re booking myself soon.

Thank you
Adeeba

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Lodge is great, lovely decor, Debbie is very friendly without being intrusive. A welcome pack and fresh flowers in the room await your arrival.
We spent a weekend with our pet Spanial, great local pubs and walks.
Will go again.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
206mel
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage,peaceful surroundings and a lovely welcome”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Oak Lodge. It is a beautiful cottage, well thought out and delightfully decorated. We found it warm and cosy with all the modern facilities. Debbie was very welcoming which made us feel relaxed and comfortable. The surroundings are lovely and peaceful and our dogs very much enjoyed their walks. A lovely touch is the hamper of food in the kitchen on our arrival and Debbie had also put up some Christmas decorations. Thank you Debbie for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom and under floor heating
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHastin...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautifully appointed”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Cottage is lovely - very clean and well appointed. A lovely touch was a very thoughtful welcome hamper - which even included treats for our dogs!
Debbie was very welcoming and everything was very relaxed and happy.
Great situation. We found lovely walks a short drive away including The Trundles and Halnaker Mill.
Perfect for our weekend getaway and just wish we could have stayed longer
Many thanks to Debbie.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lodge a booking now!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After some issues with contacting Debbie because of issues with holidaylettings.co.uk website, we booked the Lodge quickly and easily and received directions and the door code for the lodge before our arrival.

Debbie came to welcome us and we felt that nothing would be too much of a problem if we needed to ask for something.

The lodge is set back from the road (not a main road) and consists of two rooms- a spacious bedroom with a very comfortable bed including lovely linen and an en suite bathroom including a shower; and a large lounge kitchen/ dining area.

The quality of the construction of the building is great- the owners have obviously taken time and money to equip the lodge with lovely furniture and fixtures and fittings. Having said that, I was a little concerned after booking by reading a previous review regarding the lack of an oven. In the event this was not a problem and we managed to cook a full english breakfast using the oven and not using the available frying pan!. The Lodge has an in built solid plate electric hob with 4 hobs and a large convection microwave/oven, with a slow cooker also provided as well as a frying pan, saucepans and various utensils.

The lodge is ideally situated and is close to Chichester- a 5 minute drive and has many pubs near by serving quality food and drink.

As the end of our stay approached, we became sad to leave such a lovely venue and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the lodge as a place to stay, nor would I hesitate to return there again if visiting the beautiful county of Sussex

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay- specification & location first class”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We booked the lodge to escape a hectic year and have a week of isolated retreat.

Debbie, who dealt professionally and courteously with everything from tentative enquiry to a warm welcome, really could not have done more for us. The lodge is located near Goodwood races, Chichester, and the beautiful south coast. Our first impression of the lodge was it being clean and comfortable. Modern fitted kitchen and en-suite bathroom mean whether you plan to use it as a base for daily exploration, or (like us) a winter bolt-hole, Oak Lodge has it all.

The visitor book tells the story of dozens of delighted (and many repeat, which tells you a great deal) visitors, who also offer recommendations for food, drink and tours nearby.

Nice touches; a basket of local produce on our arrival, fresh milk/tea/coffee etc, and hosts close enough to make you feel right at home , but distant enough as to not intrude. Also, Debbie arranged in advance to sort a short-term membership at a local health club; she really did aim to meet every need and expectation, which was greatly appreciated.

Only one minor point (not criticism, but easy to work around when you book), at the time of our stay, the kitchen has no grill or conventional oven, so plan your self-catering around microwave/convection/slow-cooker & hob (or eat out! Spoiled for choice). But that one single point is outweighed by a tremendous rental.

I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful lodge. We would most definitely book again should we visit the area again.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A beautiful space to relax and rest
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing