We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Musgrove House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 68 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We chose the Musgrove House after reading the very good reviews and stayed 2 nights for a birthday celebration. On arrival we were given fresh coffee and delicious cakes and then shown to our huge room (number 1). There was a bottle of sparkling wine and card for the birthday! The room was huge and had an equally large bathroom with excellent shower and bath. The bed was kingsize and extremely comfortable with wonderful sheets. Everything you could need was provided and the room was immaculately clean and had a real feel of luxury. As everyone has said, the breakfasts are fabulous and prepared from local produce to order. The B&B is in an excellent situation and we walked easily into town and to restaurants. Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend Musgrove House to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 245 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this b&b because of the reviews on trip advisor and we have not been disappointed.

The room was very spacious and very clean. The bathroom was great and the hospitality of the owners fantastic.

Just finished a full English breakfast and it was great with locally sourced bacon & sausage.

Our daughter is at university in Chichester and it is great to know that we now have somewhere to stay in next three years!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Paul_L_Donno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I had a one night stop in Chichester recently and was extremely happy to find this B&B. The rooms are kitted to a high standard. They are comfortable, well decorated and spacious. Breakfast was also great!

Robin and Jane (the owners) are very welcoming and pay a lot of attention to the small details (cake on arrival, home made brown sauce, etc!)

Great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here in Oct 2013 with partner and his family, effectively taking over all 3 rooms. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean, and very comfortable with all the little touches you'd expect from a high quality B&B, with a lovely large en-suite bathroom. Soft comfy bed with plenty of extra cushions/pillows for added comfort. Friendly welcoming hosts who told us all we needed to know. Was great having own separate entrance so we could come and go without bothering the owners.
Breakfast was delicious, good quality and there was plenty of it, with veggie options too.
We can only apologise (again!) to the owners for coming in late and talking loudly in the breakfast room which unfortunately woke them up (which they were good natured about in the morning!). All in all, a very good B&B but we were expecting it to be very good quality due to the reviews it had and the price charged. Not cheap but good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Owners Robin and Jane could not have been more welcoming when we arrived and were very helpful with local tips. Room 2 was beautifully furnished with a light and spacious bathroom and was well equipped with storage and tea making facilities. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice of hot and cold which we sampled over our four night stay. The ten to fifteen minute walk into the centre of Chichester was easy enough. There was a bit of traffic noise but no more than you would expect in an urban setting. Altogether a great place to stay to enjoy the delights of Chichester.

Room Tip: Room 2 is in the quietest position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We chose this b&b as an over night stop when visiting our son at university. The accommodation had off street parking , a definite plus and quite rare in chichester. On arrival, we were greeted by the owners Robin and Jane and immediately offered a cup of tea accompanied by warm cake! Heaven after a long car journey. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed chatting to them before being shown to our room. A lovely ensuite room, with large comfortable bed, tv hairdryer tea/coffee making. The bathroom was big with lovely fluffy towels. Both were spotless. The ceiling fan in the bedroom was fantastic, didn't make a sound. In fact we loved it and want to get one for our home now. We asked Robin and Jane about it and they printed off details about them for us. Breakfast was delicious, with choice of yogurts, cereal and cooked breakfast the toast or crossiants. The b&b was about a 15 minute walk from the very centre of chichester and we walked in Saturday night and met our son, going to the old cottage Indian restaurant . (Very nice). All in all we could,t fault Musgrove house at all and will definitely be returning. Thank you Robin and Jane!!

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms, we had room 2 . It was lovely, but would imagine they all are!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Musgrove House, where we stayed for five days, is ideally situated just a short walk from the pedestrianized centre of the delightful city of Chichester. All the furnishings are relatively new and to a very high standard. The bed (we had Room Two) was extremely comfortable and the en suite bathroom spacious. Our hosts made us very welcome and gave guidance on restaurants, places to visit, and transport services. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious to eat. Jane and Robin have clearly put a lot of effort into renovating and modernizing the1890s character property and developing it into a first class bed and breakfast establishment. We know they are very proud of it and so they should be. We certainly hope to visit them again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
0.7 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musgrove House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musgrove House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 63 Oving Road, Chichester PO19 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range: $117 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Musgrove House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Musgrove House has three fantastic en-suite bedrooms, each one unique and different. We also have off-street parking and all the rooms have brand new and extremely comfortable posturepaedic or pocket sprung mattresses, HD LCD TVs with DVD player, iPod/iPhone radio alarm clock and hairdryers. All our breakfast products are locally sourced and/or homemade, and we do our very best to make your stay at Musgrove a memorable one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing