We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swallow Bakery - CLOSED

The Swallow Bakery
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: This is a cafe and cup cake shop
West Sussex
Level Contributor
764 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The cakes look ok, but are far too sweet for my taste and the choice when we called was poor. Some cakes were uncovered, which I am never happy about and I found the staff to be a little disinterested.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No food left by 5 pm”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I wanted to have a proper English tea at 5 pm (since I was in England) and we decided to go to the Swallow Bakery because it looked really cute. The decoration is all light pink and they seem to have a large variety of cupcakes and other sweet treats.
I had walked by it several times during the morning but at 5 pm when we weanted our tea pretty much nothing was left. No scones, no nothing. Just some dry and sad cupcakes that had been standing there all day long (they were dry).
Slightly dissapointing :-(

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norgesknupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely little bakery full of delicious cakes! Best cupcakes ever. Very pretty and be prepared to spend cash and put on the pounds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyPothecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Yummy treats”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved the cupcakes....omg so lovely, go and try one out...will go back when I am next in Chichester. We took our cupcakes home and sat in the garden enjoying it...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vebs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“friendly”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

lovely coffee and a friendly atmosphere,nice selection of food opened on new years day. not overly expensive

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swallow Bakery also viewed

 
West Itchenor, Chichester
Singleton, Chichester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing