We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“city break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

the hotel is great for visiting this city and coast. hotel has car park. room was great and all staff very friendly., did not eat in hotel but ate in pubs near by.will visit again if this way.breakfast very good service a little on the slow side, there is a lift but it is very small as its a old building.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear trevor m,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and giving us 5 out of 5.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and hope that you will have an opportunity to sample the delicious menu in our beautiful restaurant Murrays.

With kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    161
    72
    29
    12
See reviews for
66
257
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Having stayed several times before, we had yet another great weekend at this hotel over the bank holiday and it has become our favourite hotel on the south coast. As we like to spend some time strolling around the city, as well as exploring the local area by car, the hotel is ideally situated in the city centre with the advantage of a free car-park. Check-in is always easy and efficient - even though we arrived early, we checked-in, went into town and reception very kindly called us when our room was ready. The rooms are very comfortable and very well appointed - we especially like the wide comfy beds and the fact that each room is individually styled and decorated which adds variety to repeat stays. The hotel is immaculate throughout and the lounge/bar and restaurant (Murray's) have recently been refurbished in a style which has created an ambience which we like very much. Breakfast is an absolute feast !! We had drinks in the bar, including some great cocktails, followed by dinner in Murray's where the food was excellent. The staff, without exception, are friendly, helpful and efficient so the service is always great. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Many thanks to all at The Ship, with a special thank you to Sophie who, as always, looked after us so well and to the barmen (Sam? & James?) who mixed the cocktails !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeAndEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear GeeAndEss,

Thank you so much for you very kind comments, awarding us 5 out of 5 making us your favourite.
Your comments are extremely generous and have cheered the whole team who all genuinely want to enhance each and every customer’s experience. Our cocktail list is expanding so we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to sample some new titles.

Thank you once again

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here when we went to 3 friday nights at goodwood and we were plesantly surprised. The rooms are lovely, the staff are friendly and the food is brilliant. Right in the centre of chichester and very close to the racecourse! Win win!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistairmclean81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear alistairmclean81,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and awarding us 4 out of 5. As you say our location is fabulous for all local events and we are always happy to help with transport, tickets etc.
Thank you for your comments about our food and staff, which mean a great deal to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ship Hotel and Murrays restaurant in the near future.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the ship on the 3rd of may for three nights with our friends Colin & Julie
to celebrate our 25th anniversary, all the staff were very friendly and very helpful, breakfast was good( first class). As for the evening meal the food was the best ever, it was that good we ate there twice. already booked for next year. A big thank you to Patrick the manager for a great weekend, also to Hatti such a lovely waitress.

Kevin & Tina Hollands

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Kevin H,

It was a great pleasure to have you all staying with us and we even managed to have a celebrity guest for you to also meet!!

I have passed on your comments to the team and thank you for giving us 5 out of 5.
We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate your 26th but hope you might have the opportunity to fit in another visit before then.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at The Ship after a wedding recently. The room was nice, if a bit small (narrow but long). We stayed in the Uncle Vanya room.

The cooked breakfast was good and the buffet when stocked when we went.

Free parking at the hotel was also a plus for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear

Thank you for your kind comments and giving us a 4 out of 5. As a Georgian Grade two listed building our rooms do vary in size and are classified according to the size of the bed.
I hope that when you stay with us again you will try another of our six themes from productions at the Chichester festival theatre. I know my reservations team will be happy to discuss them with you when you book with us.

I have passed on your comments to the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ship Hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My daughter treated me to an overnight stay at the Ship,I was visiting my new grandchild in hospital,first impressions were quite good reception was muted but civil,liked the decor. Liked the room,prices for drinks are outrageous and we are used to London prices no picks or nuts included
But so far ok.as we hadn't had a meal all day we looked forward to breakfast next day,Oh Dear!!!
how can you be so cynical?what do you think you're guests are used to? No fresh bread just cheap toasting bread to make you're own toast ,depleted buffet shortage of everything,and then the cooked breakfast sausage ok if bacon had been grilled instead of microwaved it may have been ok the eggs were a disgrace both fried and scrambled (joke rubber eggs) service was willing
enough but schoolgirls with no training are not what's expected of a ( Boutique hotel)? SHAME ON YOU SHIP HOTEL.

Room Tip: Try the Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlehamp2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear littlehamp2n,

Thank you for taking the time to post your views on this website.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly refurbished hotel, but I was a little surprised at your comments with regard to our drink prices, which we have held down for over two years and are highly competitive in the city. All our alcoholic drinks are served with frequently changing free appetizers and all our hot drinks are served with house made coconut ice or fudge.
I am pleased to be able to tell you that since your comments we have changed our bread supplier to a local bakery, The Hungry Guest, and now offer a choice of four breads with breakfast as well as our assortment of pastries.

All my staff, as can be seen from other reviews, are fully trained and go out of their way to enhance each and every one of our guests experience.
I hope we may welcome you back to The Ship Hotel in the future and thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

A really excellent hotel with marvelous staff. The whole place seems to be run by extremely competent and efficient young women. They were all wonderfully friendly and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. Their professionalism was exceptional; we cannot praise them highly enough. The decor was equally impressive and we were very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was also of a terrific standard and reasonably priced. We also ate at an Italian restaurant in the main town and the cost was the same as The Ship, but the ingredients used and the general quality was far inferior.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Renaissance Room. Decor was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrickburfield, General Manager at Chichester Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Teresa K,

Thank you so much for your review, awarding us 5 out of 5 and your very kind comments. You are right; my female colleagues outnumber me considerably! I have passed on your comments to the whole team who I am sure will remind me frequently as to their supremacy!
We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Ship Hotel and Murrays in the very near future.

Kind regards

Patrick Burfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chichester hotels
3.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichester Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichester Harbour Hotel

Property: Chichester Harbour Hotel
Address: North Street, Chichester PO19 1NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chichester Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning boutique, Grade II* listed Georgian property, formerly The Ship Hotel, offers a relaxed city retreat with an unrivalled position in the heart of Chichester. It's the perfect place to escape to for a few days of fantastic food, shopping and exploring the South Down's countryside. After a perfect night's sleep in one of the luxurious 36 bedrooms, or the hotel's private cottage overlooking Priory Park, explore the city's enticing mix of boutique and high street shops, renowned art galleries, stylish restaurants and contemporary cafes. Dine in the hotel's restaurant and enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, pre-theatre dinner, lazy lunch or dinner from their range of menus, showcasing fresh, seasonal and local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chichester Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing