We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding”
Review of Crouchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crouchers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Booking Crouchers for our wedding was the easiest and best decision we have ever made!

We booked our wedding at Crouchers Country Hotel after a wonderful weekend away there. We met up with Lynn (the wedding/events co-ordinator) and she talked us through what Crouchers can offer and made us feel completely as ease that everything would be looked after.

We went to visit Crouchers on a number of occasions before the wedding and all of the staff there were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to ensure that all of our questions were answered.

When the big day arrived, both Lynn and Carlo (restaurant manager) went out of their way to ensure that every detail was just the way we wanted it to be. Lynn's calming personality allows for a stress free day and Carlo's charismatic personality makes everyone feel at home!

The hotel venue itself has everything you could want for both a wedding venue and as a hotel. The standards of the rooms are significantly higher than the 3 stars that they are allocated and the views over the beautiful countryside really do make it a break away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Both the honeymoon suit and room 19 were absolutely perfect and we fell in love with the giant baths in both rooms - the perfect way to relax after a busy day!

The food was absolutely superb and perfect for our special occasion. It not only is incredibly tasty but beautiful presented - better than I have had in some 5* hotels in London. Carlo ensured that the wedding breakfast was served on time and everything ran smoothly so that we didn't have to worry about anything. All of our guests commented on how good not only the service was but the food was too.

We cannot recommend Crouchers highly enough for weddings, as a hotel venue and as a restaurant and cannot thank them enough for making our big day so special. We will definitely be a frequent visitor at Crouchers!

Room Tip: Room 19 is the best one at Crouchers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 943 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed in one of the chalet rooms on the ground floor, and was surprised to find that it had a pretty patio/garden. Absolutely delightful to sit outside with a cup of coffee, watching the sun rise over the trees before a busy day at work - heaven! My room was well appointed and very comfortable, with every facility one could wish for, even having a proper hair dryer (not one of those 'puffy' things in the bathroom) and thoughtfully placing the plug close to the dressing table (which doesn't happen often in hotels). The restaurant was excellent with dinner and breakfast of high quality and delicious. I found the staff friendly and welcoming and simply cannot find a single bad thing to say about Crouchers. I will be returning regularly on business, and will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phaedra345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This Hotel is a hidden surprise. Used 2 days for business... The website, signage and marketing do not indicate how nice it is, or does not match its style.
The place is perfectly placed for nice relaxing atmosphere.
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food is decent.

ALL RUINED BY: Wi-fi too slow, kicking off every other minute every piece of toast burnt, ordering x and getting y...such silly little things, but sooooo annoying...because they are easy to fix..... it could be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURFORDLOVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The restuarant is excellent, the staff were helpful and friendly, the room was well appointed, clean and comfortable BUT there appears to absolutely no soundproofing at all. We could hear everything going on in the rooms around us.

OK for a one night stop-over but I wouldn't want to stay here for any length of time

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Really enjoyed relaxing three night stay here - comfortable room and food was excellent.
Compliments to Carlo and all staff. Thoroughly enjoyed the coastal walks to the Witterings and visiting Chichester. Reccomend the chocolate brulee and the wine.
Will return again soon. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerseyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We booked into Crouchers in spite of what we had read on this site and all I can say is that the other reviews are spot on. We paid what I consider to be top rate for a room with a four poster bed and it was so small and dark it was risible. The hotel is situated right on the main road from Chichester to West Wittering and between the noise of the traffic and the noise from other rooms (you can even hear drawers being opened and closed) sleep was not possible. Breakfast was indeed inadequate - I can't remember the last time I was only given one egg - and the baked beans were stone cold. My husband asked for some olive oil to pour over his kipper and was told that they did not have olive oil in their 'award winning' kitchen. No alternative was offered. On arrival at the hotel we were told that breakfast was from 8 until 9.45 but that on the Sunday it was only until 9.30 as they had a wedding on. And really there we have the crux of the matter. This is essentially a restaurant with rooms and we did have a very good meal there on the first night. Crouchers needs to trade on its cuisine and charge more appropriate prices for what is very far from a hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MelanieDunstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to add a review on the hotel and restraurant . It is important or us to evaluate how the hotel is being managed . We are sorry that your overnight stay was not up to standard . We are a relatively young hotel business and will use your comments to make any nescessary improvements . We acknowledge that on that weekend we had a wedding which made it difficult to offer our full service during breakfast and some extra staff training will be in order. Thank you for commenting on a good experience in our restaurant , an area we have given much attention . We will now strive to make sure all our 26 bedrooms deliver a good experience for all our guests. Myself and my management are always available to our guests should any problems arise during their stay . Lloyd van Rooyen , Hotel Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Staff at the hotel were very friendly. Room was on the smaller side, but had a very comfy big bed and nice outlook. It was easy to find. The restaurant was good - nice staff again and I had fresh fish which was great. Reception stocked with the essentials and options to book massage when you got there was great. Booked through laterooms and got room for £68.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exbackpacker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
660 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
12.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouchers Hotel

Address: Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: $148 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crouchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crouchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouchers Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Crouchers Country
Crouchers Country West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing