We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Too Bad At All!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chichester Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Too Bad At All!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight here and it was nice. Only a Couple of negatives. Decors a bit dated and our room could of done with a deep clean in the bathroom. We stayed in a room facing the rear and there was a generator or motor starting up all night so took a while to sleep.

On the plus side the Staff are very friendly and cant do enough to help you. The guy on reception gave excellent customer service. The bar staff are great too. Breakfast had a huge choice so something for everyone. The use of the Pool and Sauner was great & helped us relax. I'd happily spend the night again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AEParle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    217
    117
    37
    22
See reviews for
87
170
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place is deceptively large. It can be a fair walk around the building from the car to reception, and it can be a long haul to your room. Even further if you get an upstairs room. Having said that, the room itself was clean, pleasant, roomy and had decent facilities. It had an unusually firm large bed that was surprisingly comfortable - I didn't think I'd like it, but I really did. I must say although it was busy, (nearly all the car park slots were taken) I found it much quieter than the local p--m--r inn, perhaps because its a more substantial, older designed building?
It may also be worth mentioning that this hotel may be quieter than some in the area, because its a little further out from any local entertainment or attractions. I think you would need to get back in the car to go anywhere nearby - its more than a stroll to anywhere. Mind you sometimes that's what you need if you'd like it quiet...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokie2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Other reviews I had read made me a bit wary of this hotel but I was joining a party of 70+ guests for a weekend celebration so I just went with the flow.

'The Cons'

No lift and, being temporarily disabled, struggled with the user UNfriendly staircase. The hotel was sprawled over a large area and some rooms were a very long distance from bars and dining rooms etc.

The buffet breakfast tasted fine but, as is quite often the case in a lot of hotels, the food was only warm so it got cold pretty quickly. Why don't hotels install microwaves for guests to heat food up.

The hotel is in need of an update.

'The Pros'

Our bedroom ( 202 ) was large with a king size double and a fairly large single bed. Bathroom was also large with a shower in the bath. The beds were very comfortable and we were very pleased with our room. It would appear that there is quite a wide variety of bedrooms, some of which did not sound as nice as Room 202.

The bar prices are extremely reasonable as are the bar snacks etc. Our evening meals were part of an organised package and the presentation and quality of the food was very good.

Bar staff, waiters, waitresses and reception staff were efficient and friendly.

A number 55 bus runs frequently from a bus stop right outside the hotel and this goes into Chichester town for the cathedral and shops.

My rating is based on the fact that this is a 3* hotel. Had it been 4* then an average rating would have been given.

Room Tip: 202 large and comfy 204 is smaller but has a 4 poster bed ( comfort not known )
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I concur with other reviews here - if you imagine a 1980's Old Peoples Home - you're about there with the feel of the place!
If you can cope with the 100yd trek to your room, and no lift - but it is only two storey, the shabbiness of the en-suite (complete with long black hairs round the bath - not ours!), the fact that one of our rooms wasn't even serviced on one of the days, and the appalling state of the restaurant-area ladies loo, then you'll have a fine time!
I have to say - the food was WAY WAY above the standard of these failings!
We stayed the whole weekend for a fund-raising function, and the food throughout was bordering on exceptional, which is quite a feat when catering 70-odd covers! ... so I think it best to be charitable with my overall rating.
The staff were (mostly) friendly and helpful (well you always get ONE stroppy receptionist - don't you), and the bar prices were not unreasonable, but my advice if you're a bitter drinker - change tipple for your stay (theirs was WAY too cold and well-nigh tasteless), There is also a rather dated-feeling 'Spa', although it's a bit minimalist for that description - but again think 'Spa in an old peoples home' (if there were such a thing!) and you'll not be dissappointed - again priced very reasonably.
So - like the 'curates egg' The Chichester Park Hotel is 'good in parts'.

Room Tip: Avoid room 107 - it's under the worlds creakiest stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unevenshifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I am flying at Goodwood so this hotel is well situated for me only a mile away. I got a discount booking on the Internet and like the fact that there is parking free and it's close to town. I like my room on the second floor, it's cosy and warm and I have spent some time in the sauna and pool/ jacuzzi which was lovely. On Wednesday I have booked a massage and will keep you posted as to how it turns out. The breakfast looked nice but I was happy with porridge. For only £10.00 you can get wifi in your room all week which is very reasonable compared to other cheaper places to stay. I ordered a panini from room service and also was pleased with that. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I have been told that the second floor rooms are better but don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed here on business a few times in 2013. The place is like an old folks home! There is a lengthy walk to your bedrooms and even worse if you are upstairs. The bedrooms themselves are a bit hit and miss, some of them are shabby with worn carpet and some are quite new. I know there has been a re-furb happening, but that's mostly the upstairs rooms that have had the re-furb. There is no lift in this hotel. There is a gym and a small pool. The food is quite average, decent variety to be fair. The staff are lovely and there is lots of parking.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonakam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-s-Mare
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for a family funeral. The hotel was excellent at a very sad time. Hotel was spotless, bedrooms roomy and quiet and food nice and hot and plentiful. All staff were smiling welcoming and nothing was any trouble. Will definitely be staying here again when visiting Chichester, Can not be faulted.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chichester hotels
4.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichester Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichester Park Hotel

Property: Chichester Park Hotel
Address: Madgwick Lane, Chichester PO19 7QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chichester Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, two story hotel with restaurant; located 1 mile from town; ideal base for exploring West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chichester Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing