We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the beautiful SouthDowns”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a lovely hotel i have been there before and have noticed the improvements . As it was a Monday night the Kennel Restaurant was closed but the in house one was superb .I took advantage of the pool and sauna facilities slightly spoilt by strong chlorine smell also there seemed to be no attendant anywhere to be seen ! There are always deals to be had so if you are able to choose your dates this hotel can be great value

Room Tip: Try and get the modernised rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for The Goodwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I spent the night here on the Sunday night special offer which included a 30.00 credit for dinner plus breakfast the following morning. The rooms have been refurbished since we last stayed and now have a nice contemporary feel with everything you would need.

The bar and grill offers a good selection of quality food at reasonable prices, with everything fresh and tasty.

As always every member of Goodwood staff are always professional and friendly.

We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttynag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for a night in september to celebrate my birthday. when we were greeted the staff were friendly and very welcoming and helpful. the room was lovely, very comfortable and well presented. food was excellent both the room service in the evening and the following morning for breakfast. it was delivered quickly and was very hot. when we checked out the staff were again friendly and made sure they asked how we had found our stay and offered to carry our bags out to our car as they had done when we arrived. all in all i cannot fault this hotel in any way and will definitely be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debzed1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This must be the perfect weekend hotel, super rooms, lovely pool and spa area , beautiful walks in the Sussex countryside,yummy food and very welcoming staff. We were there for a wedding reception which was organised very well by the hotel's specialist staff and made it a magical time.
Not the cheapest weekend you'll ever have but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: there are some rooms that open out onto the grassy square in the middle which cost a bit more but wo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked a Character room in the old building which was lovely. Beautifully designed, I loved the eclectic interior touch's and the bathroom was immaculate..very important in my books! Arrived after dark so not so concerned by the view which was of the car park, but I had booked in advance and took advantage of the dinner and room deal for £281 ..I think it is likely that you get the room without view when getting a deal.

Stayed on a Saturday night which may be key to the problems with the restaurant. I took on board the comments on Trip advisor about the Bar and Grill and so booked the restaurant in the old part..Oh Dear! ...for an intimate meal this is not the place to be on a Saturday night...our table was in the furthest part of the room with a large party..small children cart wheeling and running all over the place..I discreetly asked for another table. This was obliged but was near the entrance and so it felt as though we were dining in Waterloo Station! Children and parents with prams shuttling backwards and forwards passed our table all evening.

My summary is that this place is great, fantastic for families..all very relaxed, anything goes, let your little one's run riot..shameful I say as there were clearly many diners who had dressed very smartly for the occasion and were expecting fine dining. Whilst the food delivered, the atmosphere and expectation didn't. My advice?.....book The Kennel's (amazing venue, food and atmosphere!) for Romance and Special Occasion's. To Parents, be respectful of other people when you take your beloved little one's for dinner in a high end hotel..teach them early, it will stand them in good stead..and yes I have children myself, though left at home on this occasion, I know I can take them to such establishments because I have shown them from year dot how to behave!

To finish on a positive note, the young and friendly reception staff were most welcoming, engaging and quite lovely. The Bar staff too.. A great place for a drink before moving on to the very impressive Kennels Restaurant.

Room Tip: Pay full price and get the best Character room in the old part!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful room with great facilities, lovely molton brown products and a sparkling clean bathroom. The staff on the front desk were extremely polite and helpful, going out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Our room service evening meal was great and the breakfast amazing, loads of choice for cooked and continental breakfast. Spending the day in the spa was wonderful and very impressed that use of the spa is included in the cost of stay. Excellent hotel and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bearcoolsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you like to feel at home, in a charming home, in a wonderful location close to Chichester, West Sussex and if you enjoy golf, walking, a great gym or Spa pampering and you indulge in good food and wine this is an ideal place.

Nearly all the rooms have recently been renovated to a very high standard.

Inside facilities offer you great time also in rainy weather.

I have been there many times and have always had a perfect relaxing few days.

The organic breakfast from the Goodwood Farm Estate is a perfect way to start the day.

Spoil yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiaraMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
6.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
899 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
616 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: $181 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing