We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of The Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A wonderful clean hotel with friendly staff . We stayed in a garden room which was spacious and clean and we enjoyed sitting out of our patio door in the sunshine watching the planes going overhead. We ate in the bar restaurant which we found excellent value for money . This hotel offered us one of the most comfiest beds we have ever slept in in hotels and we had an excellent nights sleep. Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: worth the extra cost to have a garden room, especially if you are staying on a summers evening where...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jax1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,357 - 1,363 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

6 years ago, this felt like a strange collection of dodgy prefabricated buildings strung together. Now much improved, but still very easy to lose your way back to your room. What you have to remember is that the buildings are strung together in a circle, like a necklace, so, though the hotelt may feel like a maze, if you keep walking you'll get back where you started. Rooms okay, with reasonable, if slow, free wireless Internet. You can pay more for a faster connection. Food so/so. When everyone in a party of 50 gets served belly pork, someone has to get the chunk that's mostly fat. Breakfast a la carte and okay, but no more than that. Fantastically convenient for the Festival of Speed. Just walk straight through to the start line. Renovations badly timed to perhaps its busiest weekend of the year.

Room Tip: Try to get one as close to reception as possible to reduce the walk and the potential to get lost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Well placed on the outskirts of Chichester and with a great feeling of hospitality

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBijnsdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rooms,service and food 5 stars. The staff is very helpful and polite. Our room was very clean with a huge and comfortable bed. Only pool section is disappointing specially when a group of golfers invade the whole area. I will be back because my stay in the hotel was amazing and well with it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lienka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed there as newlyweds on our wedding night on a Saturday night, having lived near to Goodwood we had both always dreamed of staying in one of the fabulous looking character rooms so when it came to our wedding it was the number one place we wanted to stay, and at over £280 a night one of the most expensive in the area.

When it came to our night we arrived late at 11:45pm and were greeted with excellent service, and shown to the room which as we wished was stunning, lots of space and luxury fittings throughout.
We soon realised that the room is situated above the bar which had a group of guests outside smoking and obviously enjoying themselves, unfortunately as all of the windows were sash style it had very poor sound-proofing so the group of guests were getting louder and louder. Now at 1:30am we thought that we would like to get some sleep so I called front desk to see when the bar closed and when the reveling guests would be leaving to their rooms. The staff were very apologetic and helpful to a point and said they would try to move them on.
The group did move on, but to the corridors of the hotel outside our room where they began to run up and down shouting and slamming doors, now getting on to 2:30 I called front desk again to say that the noise was stopping us from sleeping. I am not a light sleeper, but the lack of adequate sound proofing in the room meant you could here every door slam and every guest shout in the corridor. Again the staff on front desk were apologetic but did stipulate that they could not force the guests to stay in there room.
In the morning I did describe our experience and was offered an apology and a 20% reduction on the final bill. Overall the experience was a massive shame as I had always wanted to stay here, I doubt I ever will again, particularly on a weekend where in our case there was a wedding party and a group of drunk golfers.
I understand that other guests will have the freedom to enjoy themselves, but what a luxury hotel should offer above anything else is peace, comfort and privacy to match the quality of the room. In all honesty on our night it felt like a beautiful room in the middle of a loud and rowdy youth hostel.

Room Tip: Go for a character room as they are beautiful, but NOT at a weekend when you run the risk of rowdy g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to learn that your special night was spoilt by other guests and the manner in which the situation was handled.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you and would be grateful if you would contact me directly at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

stayed here for one night (Thursday) to get a peaceful sleep away from our lovely but early rising children. We booked the nuturing nights package that included, dinner, bed and breakfast, and 2 half hour treatments at the spa and included use of the pool, health club etc.About half the rooms have been refurbished but we stayed in one of the old style rooms as this was cheaper, but it was still very nice with an enourmous comfy bed. Lovely hotel, fabulous service from all staff, great food in both bar and grill and richmond arms restaurant,lovely bar amazing breakfast spread. The website descibes the spa as luxury but it is really just a beauty salon with 4 treatment rooms off the corridor that leads to the pool. The pool, steam room and changing area are very nice but beware of school holidays as it can become full of children having a whale of a time in the pool( we went during half term). I was aware of this as I had used the pool here before but there where lots of adults sitting round the pool and complaining as they had booked a spa break and where unaware that the pool would be over run with excited children. It didnt bother us as they weren't our children so we could happily ignore them. Also the bar and grill which is next to the pool is not the sort of place where you can drink herbal tea in your fluffy bath robe. Very busy and again full of familys and old men just in from playing golf. Not a problem for us but I know girlfreinds who have been for a pampering spa day and have been disapointed with the spa facilities. Better off going to Bailiffes Court spa in Climping - no kids and loveley peaceful area for lunch.

Room Tip: Do not get a room with an interconnecting door to the next room, you can hear everything from the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangecrush4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Lovely vene, however not enough refreshments for our conference, despite constantly asking.
Food in the bar/ restaurant - fine, limited menu

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peaches032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.8 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
5 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
962 reviews
6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
698 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goodwood Hotel

Address: Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range: $165 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Goodwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the hotel has returned to full Estate ownership under Lord March. The hotel has 91 comfortable rooms and all rates are inclusive of Bed, Breakfast and VAT. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Hotel
Marriott Chichester
Goodwood Park Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing