We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of China Royal

China Royal
Ranked #171 of 240 Restaurants in Chichester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very good. I really recomend it. Clean, the people are friendelly. At lunch time have a buffet. At night you can choose by a menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuziGhellere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    23
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

It had been a few years since our last visit to this previously good restaurant. Went for a meal on Saturday night and chose the 'all you can eat' buffet at £15.99. Service was ok, food was really pretty poor. Soggy batter on the starters, the Duck pancakes were fine, although just 3 pancakes each was a little stingy, but the main courses were something else........... I say something else because all 3 were covered in the same 'orange gloop'. Bland and tasteless. It might be 'all you can eat', but you really wouldn't want to order anymore even if you had managed to plough your way thought this MSG overload.. We won't be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WestSussexJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for a buffet.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have been many times for the lunch buffet. Priced at £7 it is very reasonable. There is always a good selection that is continually topped up. The service is excellent. We normally go as a family and grandparents have joined us as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajg2393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
405 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for the Money”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

It isn't always easy to find restaurants open on a Sunday evening. We were catching an overnight ferry from Portsmouth to France and after having looked on the internet, we found that all of the restaurants that we usually use were closed, so we decided to try to find a restaurant in Chichester.

We had eaten at the China Royal before, but some time ago. On arrival, we were rather disappointed that a buffet was being served for Sunday evening. We don't really like buffet meals, but on enquiring inside we were told by one of the staff that you could order anything from their menu and could eat as much of it as you liked, for a flat rate of £14.95 per head. We thought that we would give it a try and opted for one of their set menus.

The restaurant was very busy and was buzzing with chatter, but the service was nether the less very good. The food arrived fairly quickly once we had finished each course. We started with hors d'oeuvres with spring rolls, samosas and battered prawns with dips. The helpings were very copious. This was followed by the Crispy Duck. This was very good. After this, we were served Szechuan beef, sweet and sour pork, prawns and fried rice. The quality of these dishes was not as good, as the meat was sliced very thinly, but one couldn't complain about the quantities of each dish, there was more than enough for us to eat. Everything that was served was quite tasty and didn't have a bland, commercial type sauces. It is obvious that for the reasonable price they were charging for the whole meal they had to economise somehow.

We considered that the whole meal was excellent value, but would have actually preferred to pay a bit extra to have the meal served from the menu traditionally, without the 'eat as much as you like' style buffet.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could do better!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a fairly large Chinese restaurant conveniently situated opposite the market car park and very close to the town centre. We visited at lunchtime to take advantage of the 'special offer' buffet. It is fairly cheap (£6.99) but unfortunately the meal on offer was a reflection of the price. Variety was limited and the food was, unusually for Chinese, quite bland. There was absolutely no atmosphere and even the staff seemed totally bored. According to their advertising literature the evening buffet menu is far superior to the lunchtime one, but after this experience we won't be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Royal also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Southbourne, West Sussex
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 

Been to China Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing