We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View, average food,miserable staff....”
Review of Crown and Anchor

Crown and Anchor
Ranked #21 of 242 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our passion for local produce at the Crown and Anchor is at the heart of everything that we do. In order to bring you the freshest possible seafood, we write a daily menu dictated by what our local boats have landed that morning. Whether it be Dover Sole, landed in Bracklesham Bay by the Crew of the Kraken, or fresh lobster picked by the Crew of the Toby Rock...we can guarantee that almost all of our fish hasn’t traveled far from the sea to your plate. Our drinks range centres around the real ales that we are proud to call Young’s own; we also have a range of seasonal guests and a wine list that encompasses all tastes as far as grapes, origin and style goes. For the drivers and health conscious, we’re frequently expanding our soft drink range and there’s always teas and coffees on offer too.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic View, average food,miserable staff....”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Haven't been to this pub for about ten years,it really wasn't much cop then and this time the food was of average quality,and average food served by staff who really didn't want to be there.
How these places survive amazes me...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claxxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    207
    95
    66
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simple but extremely good quality”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have known this pub since I was a young person growing up in Fishbourne, so it was lovely to revisit it today, many years later. It looks scruffy outside but the friendly manager says that it is to be refurbished soon - I hope they don't make it too new and shiny. The terrace has wonderful views of the harbour ( better at high tide). The menu is short and simple but everything we had was of very high quality: we had the best whitebait we've had for years, followed by a chicken Caesar salad: perfectly dressed, crisp, fresh with good chunks of chicken, fresh anchovies and masses of Parmesan. Too full for pudding we just had coffee which was also just right. If you are looking for 'fine dining' don't bother. This is a wonderfully sited pub doing relatively simple things extremely well, and all with cheerful and attentive service. Great !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unhappyfrenchowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nothing special unfortunately”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Some friends recommended this place for a lunch. A bit of a disappointment though with poor pub grub. We were expecting something special when we ordered the venison pie but ended up with near raw vegetables! venison stew and a burnt lump of pastry. Cost was £14. Just not good enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoLeakHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Lovely Food in a Charming Pub”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Crown & Anchor came highly recommended as a place to have dinner by our innkeeper in Sidlesham (near Chichester). We enjoyed great food and good service in a classic pub.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BornToTravel1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Meal in a nice location”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've been to the Crown and Anchor many times and love it there as it is in such a beautiful setting. Our latest visit was last weekend when we took some friends whilst visiting the area. It was very busy, but we managed to get a table with a nice view. We were a bit disappointed that the Sunday roast had already sold out, but our food arrived in good time. The food was all very nice and well presented and the staff were all friendly and helpful. I would visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_R_of_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown and Anchor also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Sidlesham, Chichester
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Crown and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing