We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earnley Butterflies Birds and Beasts

Earnley Butterflies Birds and Beasts
Southern England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited this attraction yesterday. When we arrrived, it had only just opened for the day, so was very quiet. However, within an hour, there were some mums with young children who were all enjoying themselves. The butterfly enclosure is excellent, and it's great to be able to go in and walk among the tropical butterflies. Some of them settled on us, which was lovely. Next, we went in the bird enclosure, which we also enjoyed. We continued our walk through the small themed gardens, which will no doubt look even more attractive when flowers are in bloom. At the end of the gardens, there's a shipwreck exhibition, but there are steps up to this, so it's not accessible to wheelchair users. There are also some picnic tables and a children's play area.

We continued past the two friendly miniature donkeys, and went along the animal walk, where there were rabbits, chickens, owls and guinea pigs - to name but a few. We had a chat with one of the keepers who clearly loved his work and had an affinity with the animals. We could have chatted with him for a lot longer. We went on to the reptile house, then at the end, we spent some time looking around the exhibition of 20th century memorabilia, which transported us back in time when we saw things we remembered from our childhood.

To summarise, this is an interesting place for all ages, and a great for children who can get close to the animals and learn about them, as well as playing. One bonus point is that with the exception of the picnic and play area, everything is under cover, so it can be visited even on a wet day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbowDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    68
    55
    46
    102
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This feels like it has been created in someone's very large back garden but I think that just makes you appreciate the effort gone in to it a bit more. Spend a pleasant hour looking at all kinds of animals and birds and be careful not to step on the butterflies. Even the very "homemade" trip down memory lane is amusing and evokes a long lost memory from the recesses of the brain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMNorthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Earnley Butterflies Birds and Beasts. A great place for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have 3 children, 7, 5 and 2. They all and I love it here. The bird and butterfly enclosure is their favourite. Lots of other animals to see aswell. For all ages and a safe space for them to have fun. A lovely picnic area has been improved with a nice safe area for the kids to play. A lovely family run business who are happy to talk to you about all the animals. Would recommend to anyone!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb for animal loving kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We revisited this attraction with our two children aged 8 and 10 after hearing it had changed and would recommend a visit. What you get here is the potential for getting close to and learning about the animals on show. More improvements are on the way. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and we were treated to a wonderful reptile experience. Two hours flew by. We have been to numerous zoos and animal parks in the last 10 years and for the money this has to have been one of our best experiences. Give it a go!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hadnt heard of this place until a friend mentioned it. Took my 4 year old neice who loved it there. Loads to see and little challenges for the little ones. Nice play area for the kids too. Was great that they got the owl and a big hawk type thing out too for a close up. Would highly reccomend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earnley Butterflies Birds and Beasts also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Earnley Butterflies Birds and Beasts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing