We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all Cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Avoid at all Cost”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Holiday from hell requested special requirements for disabled party caravan on lake after lengthy conversation with park were sold a gold plus caravan 2 min from lake ideal Or NOT in our case was a lengthy walk to nearest lake which was syndicate only so we were unable to fish our desired holiday
Lodge was mouldy with broken appliances and filthy pots and pans used ashtrays in amongst kitchen utensils
We had to spend our holiday sitting on decking which overlooked 3 industrial sized dustbins and a dog poo bin all of which were in use constantly
I failed to complain until my return waited 20 days no reply emailed again only to be told that they company did have notes detailing my requests but there had been a mis communication from park staff not good enough will not provide head office contact details say all complaints must be dealt with at park level quite frankly the worst holiday in my life
If this is your only holiday this year as mine was please go somewhere else or if you have already booked and find a problem report it at the the time as this company has NO after sales care

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelinaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    139
    109
    99
    203
See reviews for
369
132
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic long weekend at Goodwood festival of speed.Five of us stayed 3 nights at Lakeside holiday park, read reviews from trip advisor as most people seem to do nowadays and were preparing for the worst !! I am pleased to say we had a lovely clean and spacious caravan. We were met by extremely friendly staff, and much to our surprise the local residents were very friendly and spoke to us. The only small criticism is the exterior of some of the vans do need some cleaning, and some of the older vans need to be taken away, especially the one close to the entrance, that is derelict. I would recommend this site for the Goodwood festival of speed weekend for location, and value for money. Thank you for a pleasant stay !!!

Room Tip: we had a silver level caravan in the middle of site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest review regarding your stay at Lakeside over the Goodwood weekend.

It is great to hear positive feedback from previous guests that have stayed with us, and have seen the improvements that we have made in recent times.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The online booking was efficient and straight forward and our request was confirmed very quickly. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly site wardens. We had a good pitch (Number 305) near the toilet block and opposite the children’s play area.
The site itself is very well managed but the only problem we had was the constant traffic noise from the A27. I realise that there is little that can do about this but I am glad we were on the far side of the field and not next door to the road.
Having said that we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaphead41773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at Chichester Lakeside.

It is refreshing to see that guests are noting the changes that are happening on Lakeside and that we are heading in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The site is fantastic, not far from the beach, nice pub down the road and the lakes are just great.

We went for the fishing mainly and special thanks to member of staff Ralph who helped me and my son no end (most of it in his time), really appreciated.

The pool was closed one day due a break down but when it was open it was great fun.

Only downside is the need for a bit of attention, for example the clubhouse was shabby, the caravan carpet stained and there was a lot of noise from the pool filter at night. Shame because it site is beautiful.

It's not as bad as some of the reviews make out but they could make more of the place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent booking here at Lakeside Holiday Park.

Please accept my sincere apologies if we failed to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Booked this through newspaper promotion for a short break.
Arrived early and was told by the reception check in was at 4pm so feel free to use the facilities. The pool is not large and the website boasts heated outdoor pool , It was freezing !! Lack of outdoor seating so sat on grass . The decking overlooks a beautiful lake but yet again it only has 5 outdoor tables. Caravan was clean but basic and small for 4 grown people.
The Friday night entertainment was dreadful it was micha singing it was so dated most songs older her and it was so loud It physically hurt your ears! She shouted at the little children to get off the stage! Unruly children running around the clubhouse and riding scooters through club And on decking , no staff around or maybe they chose to ignore this activity.
The pirate illusion show was awful !
We only used the caravan as a base preferring to eat in Chichester and spend the day in butlins instead.
The staff don't interact well and are rude , the manager had a couldn't care less attitude.
The clubsite is tired and dated. I have been on many mini breaks via newspaper promotion and have never experienced any like this

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chichester hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The holiday park is in a good location for visiting the south coast, Bognor, Chichester, Littlehampton etc. If you want to go fishing, the site has a couple of beautiful lakes, but that is as far as the good points go for the holiday WE had.
The swimming pool was closed on one day due to no chlorine and the previous day the pool was not heated due to no oil.
The aerial was faulty for the telly and it took 5 days for them to fix this.
The caravan on arrival was dusty in many areas and greasy above and over the cooker, the outside of the van looked like it hadn't been cleaned from new.
The grass had not been cut around the van for some time. The van was booked for 6 adults and 2 children and I paid extra for the GOLD caravan, reading other reviews, I don't think it mattered what you booked. The fridge was far to small for the amount of people, the pans were to small for 5 let alone 8. If you tried to complain, you got the answering machine, for 4 days running, in the end we gave a list to the complex manager as we could not get hold of anyone else, but we were told off for this by the office personnel several days later. All they could was have a go at us (Paul and Megan) for not going to the office at the entrance. But it got worse, workmen started without warning to demolish the bungalow surroundings (next to us) with chainsaw's at 8 in the morning, covering the car with sawdust and waking everyone in the van, no barriers put up, site not enclosed, ignoring every health and safety regulation in the book, we had to watch the grand children like a hawk outside as the men were feet away with chainsaws from our door and actually working next to our car. I could go on but it would take to long. Complaining got us nowhere, despite promises of it not happening again until gone 11am (wow!) it started at 8.30 again. When the manager did eventually come to see us, 5 days later, it was to complain to me about my talking to other guests about the problem. In the club on one evening one entertainment staff member had to apologise to us about a drunk shouting abuse across the room, with some very vulgar language, the culprit a resident on site, who the manager simply removed him to the other bar, round the back, he should have arrested! All in all this site is like a travellers site, lorries and vans adorn the car parks from the permanent residents, with them leaving between 6-8am each day.
All in all a ruined holiday for us, we did get our money back, but not the point really, we found the management inconsiderate and rude, which was a shame as the bar staff and café staff were excellent at their jobs.
I would recommend haven at Pagham or Bunn leisure at Selsey, we have been to both and they are both properly managed, with complaints/problems dealt with professionally over the phone straight away.

Room Tip: Go to haven at Pagham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DjMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent a week at The Lakeside Holiday Park in March/April. First impressions, seemed like a lovely place. Greeted at reception, all very straight forward. Couple of Easter eggs given to the kids. Followed the map to our Gold rated static which took us to a car park full of work vans and a few static caravans at the back, which to us looked like they were being stored there. Took another drive around the site thinking we must have taken a wrong turning, but no, to cut a long story short, our static caravan was at the back of a muddy car park. Very basic inside. This was our first experience of staying in a static, but wasn't at all what we expected. They were aware from our booking that we had an 8 month old, but no provisions were made for the gas fire, which in March needed to be on most of the time. We asked about a fire guard but we got a shrug of shoulders and told they don't supply them. No ramp up to the door, which made things difficult with the pushchair. Obviously, being in a car park, I couldn't let me 5 year old run around out the front. The club house was just across the car park so we had the noise from there every evening until after midnight. The club house and cafe were very run down looking. The amusements area wasn't great either with a lot of the machines not working and teenagers hanging around the door ways. I can't comment (luckily for me) on the toilet/shower blocks as I didn't go in them, but from reading other reviews I wouldn't want to use them. Crumbs inside the top of the oven, around the hobs. Door to caravan had a 'buckle' in it, so was really difficukt to get open or closed. We needed to use all the spare quilts/pillows as on set were ridiculously thin. My husband went to the reception to complain pretty much every day, and on the final day we were offered another week free, later in the year.
When we arrived home we complained directly to Hoseasons, who looked into it for us. They came back to us not at all happy because Lakeside Park had failed to get back to their numerous calls. They have since gave us a full refund plus a £50 voucher. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellys1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent booking here at Lakeside Holiday Park.

Please accept my sincere apologies if we failed to meet your expectations, I can assure you that we didn’t intend for this to be your first impression.

If you’d like to discuss the issues you encountered further, please contact me at psmith@parkholidays.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
1.4 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Vinnetrow Road, Chichester PO20 1QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 large fishing lakes set in over 150 acres of beautiful Sussex countryside, and yet only a few miles from the beach and the traditional seaside resort of Bognor Regis – what an unbelievable location!The entertainment centre boasts a choice of bars and dining options and is a great place for meeting other owners on this exclusive park. It is also handily situated just 15 minutes from (amongst other venues) Chichester Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing