We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked a Gold Caravan (plus) as soon as we walked in (after arriving later than planned, 5:30pm) we were not sure we had a Gold caravan. We started to unpack and as soon as we did we started noticing the issues, which included no heating in 1 of the bedrooms, mold on EVERY curtain in the van, nails sticking out of the walls where previous tenants had ripped off the bed side tables. Needless to say first thing in the morning we went back to the reception to request us to be moved. We were offered another van which we did go and view before accepting and it was in a similar state of repair as the original. So we insisting in going for another van, which was more along the lines of what we were expecting. I know taste is subjective but the classification of the vans in this park is well off those of the mainstream holiday parks.

Another big issue about their vans was the distinct lack of utensils and kitchen ware for a potential party of 8 (as these vans are sold as); saucepans that would barely hold 3 cans of soup. 2 teaspoons, 7 forks, 4 bowls, 5 mugs, no vegetable peeler. I could carry on but would be here all day.

We visited the 'shop' which is basic but has all of the essentials you would expect to see on a touring/caravan park. Had a look around the amusement centre, the main area which leads to the bar/entertainment at the back stank of unclean toilets needless to say this was the only time we went in there.

We had a look around the park at night and one thing to be aware of is that the 10 mph only applies to some so please be aware before allowing children to walk around.

One other issue is that the park is prone to flooding and is not well drained so there is a lot of surface water after some rain fall, not necessarily the fault of the park but worth remembering to pack the wellies.

The park is well located for a lot of the attractions in and around Portsmouth and Chichester, which is why we chose this park.

All in all, the overall view of the park is dated with only a small number of vans that would make bronze in the higher profile caravan parks (Havens, Park Resorts etc). I guess you get what you pay for but we will not be returning, although the staff were helpful when we wanted to be relocated at the beginning of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    133
    104
    95
    203
See reviews for
360
121
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

arrived at Gold caravan which smelt really strongly of smoke (4 days in still smells) very poorly equipped for 8 people.Cleaning obviously not a priority. went to clubhouse for childrens entertainment what a joke. in 4 days played 1 game and danced 5 party dances. despite advertising entertainment at 12 noon the staff have not been there on time.the 6pm childrens entertainment starts around 6.20 where the entertainment manager proceeds to ramble on trying to make the adults laugh while the children are clearly bored. the main priority appears to be selling bingo books which takes 2 members of the team. when I asked why 1 couldn't entertain the children they brought out colouring..... as I objected due to that being their idea of entertainment on the previous night they eventually played a parachute game. Very disappointing especially as half term is supposed to be for the children.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irisheyes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chichester hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a disappointment. Nothing for the kids even though it is half term. No response when trying to make acomplaint. The gold caravans lack the most basic equipment. It was very dirty upon arrival. DO NOT EVEN THINK OF LOOKING UNDER THE BEDS.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igiveup72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked in on a very wet site, we were allowed to look before we chose to stay which was the only plus.

We found the camping site to be almost waterlogged but found a spot and decided to stay.

I then went and paid, BIG MISTAKE! I should have checked the amenities first.

For a well known company like Park the toilet block was DISGUSTING, the showers were dirty the block was covered in spiders webs and the cleaning implements to DIY were incredibly filthy and possibly illegal towards health and safety.

We had wild camped on Bognor sea front I wished we'd stayed there.

We then went to ask for a leaflet for the Nature trail, none! So we went without and found it locked, when we asked for the combination we were told the trail was closed, why didn't she tell us originally.

As we were leaving I went to tell them about my complaints, were they interested NO! If you are planning on touring, my advice is don't visit here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arrived on a very wet Friday afternoon, check in quick and easy, van was perfectly clean including the carpets ! (personal bug bear stained carpets, like you are sharing the last guests mess) Could have done with a mop in the van as so wet outside the kitchen floor got pretty muddy, yesterdays newspaper on the floor did the trick though.
Good base to explore the area, a car is essential though, nowhere within walking distance i.e a pub. Didn't use the club house although did have a nose about, outside decking area was nice overlooking the lake, all in all exactly what you would expect from a caravan park, your stay will be what you make it, the facilities can only ever provide so much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46IloveGrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

absolutely disgusting, PLEASE SEE PHOTOS, staff rude and said no animals were allowed even though the sofa was full of cat pulls, caravan stunk of cats and had a cat flap, covered in flies, blinds ripped down, no table or chairs we had to put our camping chairs up inside, nowhere for a tv hence...tiny tv on the fire surround! no patio door key, curtains a foot to short...dont understand this at all? holes all over the walls...caravan had a for sale notice in the window and owners had obviously taken everything they could unscrew! and the steps up to the caravan were covered in bird faeces! filthy place! We had paid for a silver plus and were told it was the next down from a gold...ha ha, when we arrived after a 5 hour trip this is what we got, disgusting, we politely asked for a refund but were offered a bottle of cheap wine, we still havent got a refund but now been offered a free stay...as if we would go to any of their caravan sites again, i have been to many sites over the years and never seen anything like this.

Room Tip: all bad the nearer the lake you get the more bird feaces there are
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicecuppa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I don't know what some of the negative reviewers want from a caravan site. This isn't a hotel or a butlins but the caravan was immaculate and spacious , the lakes are swarming with many species of birds, the view over the lake from the clubhouse is amazing. Good basic food from the restaurant and a decent shop. Nothing to do but who wants to spend all day in a camp site. Good position for visiting beaches, Chichester, arundel castle and lots of attractions.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GranfalloonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.4 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,893 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Vinnetrow Road, Chichester PO20 1QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 large fishing lakes set in over 150 acres of beautiful Sussex countryside, and yet only a few miles from the beach and the traditional seaside resort of Bognor Regis – what an unbelievable location!The entertainment centre boasts a choice of bars and dining options and is a great place for meeting other owners on this exclusive park. It is also handily situated just 15 minutes from (amongst other venues) Chichester Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichester Lakeside Holiday Park Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing