We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“xmas shopping chichester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vestry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Vestry
Ranked #29 of 75 Chichester B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“xmas shopping chichester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Booked this hotel to visit Chichester cathedral and xmas shopping. Was a bit shocked to find it was a pub with the reception desk next to the bar. Also to get to rooms you need to climb about 20 steps so not so good if you have a disability. Once you are up the stairs the rooms are amazing very large, Fitted out lovely, With cotton sheets very clean, mattress protector. The breakfast was lovely all freshly made great choice. The staff were amazing especially the receptionist. nice touch each room is named after someone from Chichester with a little about their history.
Great location if you want to look around Chichester lots of restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    96
    58
    22
    15
See reviews for
30
123
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is not a hotel, simply a pub with rooms above. Rooms are basic and not very clean, although sheets and towels WERE clean and there was plenty of hot water. Loud music until 12am and the sight of police, door men and drug dogs on duty outside the hotel when we returned from dinner (the hotel does not serve evening meals) was a bit of a shock! The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly however. Rooms were at the front of the hotel and could not have the windows open as the noise from the crowds outside both entering and then leaving the party downstairs meant sleep was not an option.Breakfast was good. If you are a party animal who doest mind a bit of dust in your room and a massive climb upstairs to bed, then this is the hotel for you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiemay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chichester hotels

west sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Thank you to all staff at the vestry, we enjoyed our stay. The staff were so polite, the room was extremely clean and spacious, and the cooked breakfast was fantastic, we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the Vestry for four nights on a very demanding business visit. Angie could not have done more to help me, cheerfully taking on the task of being my secretary whilst simultaneously rustling up an excellent breakfast. Certainly lively on some evenings, but staff excellent and very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I do not feel the website describes a true picture of this accommodation. It's basically a pub with rooms above. They also stop serving food at 3pm. Although we had a nice room there is loud music until 12am, so unless you are a heavy sleeper you have no chance of sleeping. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Thank you to the Vestry and the lady who runs it who was so very helpful for our meetings in printing out various copies of documents and keeping us well fed and watered over the 3 days we were in Chichester.
The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful and I'm sure we will be back - hopefully under less stressful circumstances!

Many thanks again. We could not have got through the 3 days without your help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feebee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed at the Vestry for the second time last weekend. Check in was quick & easy, room was lovely, spotlessly clean & comfy bed. Especially enjoyed the spa bath. Breakfast was great with good quality coffee & really tasty. Staff were friendly & really looked after us. Look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepink2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chichester Inn
Chichester Inn
#25 of 75 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vestry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vestry

Property: The Vestry
Address: 21 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vestry 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Vestry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vestry Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing