We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mod cons at the old vestry”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vestry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vestry
Ranked #25 of 76 Chichester B&B and Inns
Hastings
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mod cons at the old vestry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent a night in The Vestry having scored a room through laterooms.com at a bargain rate, normally it would be outside my B and B budget. It has an excellent central position and they provide a parking voucher fro a municipal car park on the doorstep, although finding the entrance to it was a bit stressful and I had several attempts going round the busy one way system. Worth getting directions via phone or email.
Friendly welcome from young staff and there's a good standard of live music in the bar, with an open mic on thursday and bands on fri and sat. Nice room with good facilities, ultra clean and quite plush. Situated within walking distance of everything, from day time shopping to the variety of restaurants and tasty live music offerings, good standard of pub bands and the locals were a chatty crowd, made some friends in Chi. Great breakfast but service a bit slow. The only drawback to the central position is that you are right on the track of all the revellers entering and leaving town until the small hours, as well as having loud music in the bar and an exuberant crowd of sociable smokers immediately outside until about 1 am. The very excellent Fountain is a few doors down, hosting great bands and providing good home cooked meals and a convivial heated smoking area.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room overlooking the main drag unless you're a night owl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    98
    58
    22
    15
See reviews for
31
126
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent location, five minutes walk from train station and adjacent to restaurants, shops and the very fine Chichester Cathedral. They also offered me car parking on arrival. The staff are very helpful, friendly but extremely polite. I had a spacious room (number 11) with a large flat-screen TV and a big jacuzzi in the en-suite bathroom. All impeccably clean, with very crisp new white sheets on the comfortable king-size double bed. The decoration is tasteful and up to date, and despite music being played downstairs at the bar, very quiet -rather silent- on the room. I slept very well and felt refreshed for my business meeting later in the morning. The breakfast (I asked for bacon and eggs) was prepared with fresh good-quality ingredients at the moment, and was excellent. Very good hotel, and extraordinary value for money -I am a frequent traveller, and hotels with similar features and service level normally cost 35-40 % more in similar towns in the UK, especially in the SE (excluding of course London).

Room Tip: Number 11 to be highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was a room above the pub, and a sizeable room at that! We were down the back of the pub so found it quiet, but I would think the rooms closer to the front could be a bit noisier. The rooms are clean and functional with nice big beds, plenty of space to put our large suitcases, and a large bathroom. This is an old building so don't expect state of the art modernity and you'll enjoy it. Situated just minutes walk up to The Cross memorial and also minutes from the Cathedral. The hotel does a deal with the car park owners at the rear and you get free parking from 6pm to 10am which worked out fine for our travels. The breakfast was included and was absolutely FAB! Full breakfast if you want it, plus cereals and yoghurts, etc. Can't praise it highly enough as it kept us going every day! We also ate there for one lunch and one dinner and both were really good, too. Excellent location for site-seeing Chichester. The only negative I'd mention for some people is that there is no lift and the stairs could be an issue for some, but for us it was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you don't want noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereKhan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a good experience. Helpful and friendly staff who provided an overnight car parking perm it, a quick check in and a large, warm, clean bedroom. Perhaps a llittle sparse and short of the homely touches but a cracking log fire in the bar area.

As others have commented this is a pub with rooms, and the staff are young and friendly but not always particularly skilled. But their intentions are good and they manage to create a good atmosphere.

It was a party night the night I arrived but I was not disturbed by any undue noise. A comfortable bed meant I slept through. At 65 pounds for the night incusive of VAT and breakfast this was good value for money and well within the business budget.

The location is superb. Straight out into the shopping centre and just 150 yards from the Cathedral.

Room Tip: Remember, this is a pub with rooms. But a friendly place with a great log fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

First of all, this is a pub with rooms, it's clearly stated on the Vestry website and on the confirmation email after booking. Thre are music nights which may keep you awake. We had no such problems staying in a deluxe double room at the back, which was HUGE. Big bed and jacuzzi in a big en sutie bethroom. The staff were helpful and friendly. Everything in the room was clean and well laid out. Lovely fluffy towels, very efficient heating which we didn't need to leave on overnight in December. If there's one small thing, maybe, the tiles in the bathroom could do with some new grouting in parts. All in all it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is centally located, very close to the cathedral buildings, shops restaurants. It's on a one way system so not easy to find the car park at the back,but staff helped us with this. For £95 it's certainly excellent value in terms of locatin and service. Once again, very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 10 is HUGE and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cautious_caff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have stayed at The Vestry several times before and have never been disappointed. We use this B&B for both business and pleasure as it is in a fantastic location and very good value for money. We stayed in room 11 which is a decent size room with jaccuzzi. The only downside was the 4 poster bed. It wasn't a full 4 poster bed but a bed with a small post at each corner. This is not a criticism by any means though. I was expecting a full size 4 poster bed so this was just my interpretation. Breakfast the following morning was great. A wide choice of breakfast as always. The Vestry is always our first choice of accommodation when travelling to Chichester.

Room Tip: Room 11 is definitely the best room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millns1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Quite ridiculous amount of noise from a disco downstairs until after midnight. When we returned from an evening out we had to make our way thorough bouncers and fighting youths! Mass guest revolt from guests next morning but the lame response from the manager was 'the problem is reflected in the price of the room' (£95.00). They should decide whether they are a hotel or a nightclub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chichester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chichester Inn
Chichester Inn
#28 of 76 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vestry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vestry

Property: The Vestry
Address: 21 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vestry 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Vestry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vestry Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing