We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame that it has changed so much”
Review of The Nags Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nags Head
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Emsworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a shame that it has changed so much”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This was a return visit meeting old friends and buying them an excellent meal.

That is what we expected but what we received was very poor service and ordinary food.

No longer worth going here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CartoonMan2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    33
    14
    16
See reviews for
54
58
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The high-traffic, main-road location and pavement overspill of scruffy smokers does the Nag's Head no favours. Entering via the big-screen, lager-dispensing bar (much shouting - the Calcutta Cup was on) caused my heart to sink further. However the staff were competent and the rooms very much better than had seemed possible. They are of recent build and are kept clean. Our room was at the back, so was fine in a cold March, but would be noisy until closing-time from the garden that it overlooks; as it was, we had only the (considerable) Saturday evening noise from the bar below and none from the road.

The room (Chilgrove) was big enough for comfort on a single-night stay, had a reasonably comfortable bed, a good TV and a sizeable bathroom. The heating system was so powerful as to give a problem in not overheating the room - a very pleasant problem to have.

Breakfast was adequate, served by a most obliging and courteous lady, but entirely lacking in flair. My constant gripe is that people running such places should take the trouble to do a bit of reading about their profession. If they can't be bothered to read, they should stay with a highly-rated rival, just to discover how well it is possible to do such things. As it is, they don't, and they never learn. It's a shame, as it isn't difficult and it sends guests away with a real spring in their step.

Parking is superb - a public car park behind the pub, free from 5pm Sat and through Sun.

[The real problem with our stay involved several young women screaming and shouting from 2am to 2.30. For this I do not blame the management, but the family who had block-booked a number of rooms (you know who you are - all petals and thorns) who have clearly failed to bring their children up as civilised.]

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Fantastic staff, nothing is too much trouble, was concerned about parking at first but the public car park at the rear is just a short walk away.
As for the food, well I think I may of put on a few stone in the 3 weeks we have stayed at the hotel on business, simply cant fault it, really is excellent !
All rooms have flat screen TV's with ample facilities.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

If you are looking for all the modern attributes of a 4 or 5* hotel, look elsewhere, this is not for you. If you like some character in the building, old-fashioned politeness in the staff and good food, this IS the place for you. This is an old inn that has around a dozen ensuite rooms tucked away upstairs. Our room was clean and attractively decorated, had a smart new flatscreen television, a hairdryer and tea and coffee were provided. The bathroom had a powerful shower over the bath, plentiful hot water, bodywash and moisturiser were provided. Really good sized bath towels too.
The choice of breakfast foods may be more limited than some hotels but it was plentiful good quality. Loved the sausages!
The food that we had both evenings was lovely and the choices were endless. We didn't sample their very popular carvery meals but they looked scrummy!
On our first evening, we had booked to see a performance at the Festival theatre (ten minutes walk away) and needed to have dinner by 18.15. The staff were extremely accommodating and our meal was on the table by 18.14. We found all staff to be helpful and knowledgeable at all times.
All in all, a very successful and inexpensive choice for our break and we would certainly stay again.
Two more points. Firstly, the Nag's Head does not have its own car-park but there is a pay-and-display car-park adjoining the rear of the property which is free from 17.00 to 09.00hours. Secondly, this is an OLD INN and I would suggest that if creaky floorboards and a little bonhomie would disturb your sleep, take earplugs!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierr0t9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed here for two nights.

We found the staff helpful and friendly and the service was good (eg the room was cleaned properly - they even washed up our own cutlery from a picnic hamper)

The cooked breakfast was excellent with flavoursome sausages and bacon but you had to ask for fruit and there was no yoghurt. The downstairs pub has a popular carvery - so access to food is never a problem.

We were however disappointed with the pokey sized bedroom, jaded decor (e.g. dated pine bed and other furniture), a lack of hot water on the first morning and a leaking shower door. Apparently the latter is on the manageress's things-to-do-list.

The Nag's Head is sited very close to the city centre and the Festival Theatre is a 5-10 minute walk away so in that respect the location is good.

However, this is not the best place to go if you want peace and quiet because the front rooms look straight out onto a busy main road (no double glazing) and the back rooms look onto a beer garden which gets busy and noisy on weekend evenings.

Parking could be an issue as the place doesn't have its own - but on the other hand a public carpark is very close by to the rear of the pub. I wouldn't recommend it for disabled though as you need to lug the bags round to the front of the place from the carpark (a 2 minute walk) - stopping actually in front of the pub is difficult as it is on a busy main road with double yellow lines.

For a hotel charging this much - they really need to offer a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I stayed here 25 October for one night. I was very impressed with everything, we stayed with 2 children and the hotel was very welcoming. It is a fantastic location - Chichester town centre is on the doorstep. The breakfast was 5*. The staff were all polite and friendly - highly recommended if you need a place to stay in Chichester.

Helpful?
Thank NatjNatj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
0.3 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
1.0 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
829 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head

Property: The Nags Head
Address: 3 St. Pancras | St. Pancras, Chichester PO19 7SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NagsSituated in the heart of Chichester, The Nag's Head is the perfect venue for visiting the city. Whether you're popping in for a drink, having a meal, or staying a while, the ambience of this traditional tavern with modern touches will suit everyone.Our barWe are proud of our heritage, which is reflected in the ambience created by our lovingly restored bar. We offer a good range of drinks & non-alcoholic beverages, and quality home-made food.Our restaurantOur carvery remains a firm favourite, offering outstanding meals alongside our main restaurant menu. Our chefs use freshly prepared, local and seasonal produce, served in a friendly & relaxed atmosphere.Our accommodationOur eleven tasteful, individually designed rooms are all en-suite, with television and tea & coffee making facilities. Our excellent full English breakfast is included in the price.Our well-placed TV screens enable viewers to watch a selection of live sporting events, either within our bar area or on our large screen within the lounge area. Enjoy the match with a drink or snack from our bar menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Hotel Chichester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing